CORE SERVICES

Vocational Rehabilitation Services

Our Projects

 

Work Extension Programme

Our Aims

  • Provide PIRs with appropriate work training and leisure activities;
  • Provide simple nursing service in order to enhance the quality of life of PIRs.

 

Milestone

In October 2005, the Social Welfare Department introduced a new project, Work Extension Programme which aimed to meet the service needs, including training and nursing/health care need, of the existing trainees of Sheltered Workshops who are unable to receive work training due to their old age or deterioration in work abilities. Kwai Shing Sheltered Workshop and Tin King Sheltered Workshop have commenced operating this programme since January 2006. Starting from February 2015, New Life Building Sheltered Workshop, New Life Farm, Chuk Yuen Integrated Work Centre and Shek Pai Wan Integrated Work Centre have joined to launch the services.

Services provided by this programme run on a daily basis according to a specified schedule, which includes basic work training, self-care training, developmental activities and community participation programme, all of which are aimed at maintaining the quality of life of PIRs in all facets.

 

Our Services

  • Provide basic work training to maintain the work habit of PIRs as well as their coordination abilities and activity level;
  • Provide self-care training for PIRs to enhance their knowledge of personal health, hygiene, exercise and domestic safety;
  • Organise community living skill training and diversified recreational classes to encourage a more productive use of free time among PIRs;
  • Organise social and community participation programme to broaden the community network of PIRs.

 

Service Target & Admission Criteria

We provide services for PIR or people with other disabilities with the following criteria:

  • Sheltered Workshop & Integrated Work Centre PIRs who could no longer perform normal work tasks due to old age or deterioration in work abilities;
  • PIRs aged over 60 (no requirement of assessment);
  • PIRs aged from 40 to 59 (assessment is required).

 

Application and Exit of Service

  • Admission is directly arranged by workshop and centers providing WEP and approval of CRS-Rehab system is required before admission.
  • For PIRs who are unsuitable or unwilling to continue with the service, discharge plan will be arranged accordingly.

 

Service Charge

The service is free of charge.

 

Contact Us

Service Unit / Project Tel Fax E-mail
Hong Kong Island
Shek Pai Wan Integrated Work Centre
Unit 1, LG3/F, Pik Fai House, Shek Pai Wan Estate, H.K.
2552 4202 2814 7577 spwiwc@nlpra.org.hk
Kowloon
New Life Building Sheltered Workshop
2/F-3/F, New Life Building, 332 Nam Cheong Street, Kowloon
2778 6023 2778 6023 nlbsw@nlpra.org.hk
Chuk Yuen Integrated Work Centre
Units 101-108 & 117-124, G/F, Cheung Yuen House, Chuk Yuen (North) Estate, Kowloon
2324 9974 2328 5178 cyiwc@nlpra.org.hk
New Territories
Kwai Shing Sheltered Workshop
Units 101-104, 106 & 108, Block 9 and Units 101-118, Block 10, Kwai Shing West Estate, Kwai Chung, New Territories
2428 8711 2485 1833 ksw@nlpra.org.hk
Tin King Sheltered Workshop
Units 9-24, G/F, Block 10, Tin Lok House, Tin King Estate, Tuen Mun, New Territories
2466 0068 2464 6960 tkw@nlpra.org.hk
New Life Farm
33 San Fuk Road, Tuen Mun, New Territories
2461 8385 2456 3201 nlf@nlpra.org.hk

Back to Top

 

Food Sharing Projects

In order to raise the awareness of food waste problems and to advocate surplus food donations, two 3-year food sharing projects had been launched in Wong Tai Sin since October 2012 and Tuen Mun since April 2013 with the sponsorship of Food Sharing Fund respectively. Riding on the success of the food sharing projects, a 24-month food sharing project funded by Environment and Conservation Fund was launched from 1 June 2015 in Kwai Chung and Tsuen Wan District. Around 100 people were given 1kg of food per person per day in each project. The projects had established good reputation among food donors, partners and the community.

With the support from more than 38 food donors, stable supply of a wide variety of food was received. On-going collaboration with partners such as Feeding Hong Kong, Foodlink and Food Angel had been strengthened to provide consistent and stable food supply. Moreover, the Association worked closely with our partnered food sharing agents such as UPS, Western Union and Holy Family Canossian College in organizing joint events and volunteer activities for food recipients.

Whilst seeking more partners and donors to sustain our projects, we will also work inexhaustibly to raise the public awareness of food poverty in the coming years.

Back to Top

 

Cleansing Service Projects

Real life trainings in the community facilitate the integration and recovery process of our people in recovery of mental illness (PIR). Thus, the Association has collaborated closely with the government departments and private sectors for various cleansing contracts in community settings. The first collaboration was made with the Agricultural, Fisheries Department (AFD) (former Agricultural, Fisheries and Conversation Department (AFCD)) that our staff and people in recovery of mental illness provided cleansing and supporting services in Sai Kung Country Park in 1995.

Throughout the past 20 years, we are dedicated to provide the best quality services to our collaborators. In 2010, the Association has been accredited ISO 9001:2008 quality management system by the Hong Kong Quality Assurance for over 90 cleansing sites in Kwai Tsing Districts. The three-year certificate has been renewed in 2013.

Currently, we have over 260 PIRs working in 93 cleansing sites everyday.

The cleansing projects are as follows:

Government Contracts of Cleansing Service 2014-2015

Awarded by Service Contracts
Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department Tai Lung Veterinary Laboratory
Tai Lung Experimental Station
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department Health Education Exhibition and Resource Centre
Shek Wu Hui Municipal Services Building
Tai Shing Street Market Building
Leisure and Cultural Services Department Quarry Bay Municipal Services Building
Recreational Venues of Kwai Tsing District
Kowloon City Municipal Services Building
Radio Television Hong Kong Radio Television Hong Kong

 

Private Sector

Nikki Japanese Language School
Lane Crawford (Hong Kong) Limited

Back to Top

 

Collaboration with Corporates

InterContinental Hong Kong (ICHK)

The collaboration between the Association and ICHK was strong. Apart from the yearly festive charity event, ICHK had showed their gracious concern to the disadvantaged groups through preparing a lunch buffet to a number of 103 elderly who were the beneficiaries of the Food Sharing Project in Tin King Sheltered workshop on 10 May 2014. On that day, chefs cooked meal on site and volunteer staff prepared games and gift packs, sharing their care and love to these seniors.

The collaboration with InterContinental Hong Kong (ICHK) was strengthened in 2015. A piece of farmland in New Life Farm was allocated for ICHK to produce organic farm products supplying to their restaurants. Besides, ICHK Chefs have visited our farmland and took pictures with the harvest for promotion in Jan 2015.

 

UPS

With the funding support, the 2-year project "UPS Green Volunteers - From Farm to Community Project" was launched in July 2014. The aims of the project were to enhance public awareness on environmental friendly and the healthy living concepts, as well, to support the purchase of farm equipment and the food sharing project.

A Cheque Presentation Ceremony was held in on 10 July 2014. President of the UPS Foundation, Mr. Eduardo Martinez, Chairperson of Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment Service Subcommittee, Dr. Yu Chi Shing and Chief Executive Officer, Ms Sania Yau were invited to the ceremony. Subsequent in Oct, more than 90 UPS Volunteers participated in farming activities in New Life Farm and donated the harvested organic crops to 200 participants of food sharing projects.

 

China Resources Property Management Ltd

Shek Pai Wan Integrated Work Centre was invited to be the collaborative partners in "CRB Green Life 2015". The activity was held by China Resources Property Management Ltd., together with restaurants of Brim 28, the Association, Hong Kong Fair Trade Power, Christian Action and Hong Kong Yoga Coach Association. The activity aimed at promoting green living and the save the Earth messages.

Back to Top

 

Community Projects - Collaboration with Schools

To promote mental wellness and the strengths of PIRs, we collaborate with primary and secondary schools continuously to organize recovery-oriented activity for students.

Tin King Sheltered Workshop has invited primary and secondary schools to participate in woodwork workshops since 2014. In these workshops, brief introduction of sheltered workshop and mental health were provided to students. Woodwork skills trained PIRs not only introduced basic woodworking skills to students, but also to design and produce products with them. It helped to promote social inclusion and the positive /FileUpload/images of PIR were delivered to students.

Students from Toi Shan Association Primary School and Tin Shui Wai Government Secondary School were invited to join the woodwork workshops in July 2014 and August 2015. Students reflected that their understanding in sheltered workshop and mental health were enriched. Tin King Sheltered Workshop would invite more schools to participate in the woodwork workshops to promote recovery-oriented practices.

Back to Top

 

Integrated Employment Assistance Program for Self-reliance

Starting the Intensive Employment Assistance Projects in 2001, the Association has been dedicated in assisting the group of unemployed. The project was launched in Wong Tai Sin, Sham Shui Po, Tsuen Wan and Kwai Chung. The current Integrated Employment Assistance Program for Self-reliance (IEAPS) in Kwai Tsing district for Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) recipients had been launched since 1 January 2013. The project had been extended for 24 months to 31 March 2017 by the Social Welfare Department. The program aimed at assisting and encouraging the CSSA recipients to become self-reliant through providing a range of one-stop and tailor-made integrated services, including counseling, work skills training, job motivation enhancement and job matching. Other than providing employment counseling and soft skills training in work attainment, the projects emphasized on developing work habits and enhancing the employability of recipients through encouraging them to participate Work Exposure (WE) Services within the service period. In view of individual needs and physical conditions of each participant, the Association had broadened various types of indoor and outdoor WE venues for them.

Back to Top

 

Horticultural Therapy Service

Horticultural Therapy (HT) uses plants as a medium to connect people and the nature. Through active engagement with plants, visiting therapeutic landscape and making handicraft with plant materials, participants can experience the healing power from plants and are satisfied in their physical, cognitive, emotional, mental and social well-being.

The service provides:

  • support for implementation and development of HT in vocational rehabilitation, residential and community services,

  • venues and facilities for horticultural therapy internship and HT activities for the public in our Multi-sensory Garden and a Horticultural Therapy Activity Room in New Life Interactive Farm,

  • outreach staff training, public education and direct HT service.

We welcome for partnership in the study of clinical application of HT to promote local HT development.

Back to Top

 

Environment and Conservation Fund Project

Food Waste Recycle Project

With the funding support by the Environment and Conservation Fund, a 2-year project "廚餘出菇大行動" was launched in October 2014. Apart from educational talks on food waste recycle, the project was expected to promote green living and reduce food waste concepts by developing a mushroom bottle that could be planted in indoor setting (e.g. home or office). Strong collaboration had been built with InterContinental hotel, wet markets in Tin Shui Wai and other organizations for regular coffee residuals and leftover food collection to produce mushroom cultivation compost.

Back to Top

 

Wellness Program for Older Adults

To capture the ageing trend and to provide holistic support to PIR, their profiles and needs of were examined. 35% of PIR in Sheltered Workshops aged over 50 and the growing trend was foreseeable. Beside the gradual deterioration in work abilities, physical health, cognitive and daily functioning, some PIR suffered from other medical diseases, including high blood pressure and diabetes. Hence, more components had to be incorporated to the current vocational services. A new project Community Support Project which aimed to provide holistic care and address the changing needs of PIR and the mentally handicapped was implemented in 2013.

Funded by the Community Chest of Hong Kong, 45th Anniversary Fund through the support by HSBC, the three-year project covered the continuum from prevention, early detection of warning signs and early intervention. A total of 360 service users were targeted for the services while the priority was given to those who aged over 55 without social support. Professional staff including occupation therapists and health workers are employed to facilitate active ageing by optimizing physical, mental and social well being as well as participation of PIR.

Scope of Services

Back to Top

核心服務

職業康復服務

我們的項目

 

職業康復延展計劃

服務簡介

我們的宗旨

  • 為服務使用者提供合適的工作訓練和閒暇活動;
  • 提供簡單護理及支援服務,改善服務使用者的生活質素。

 

里程

社會福利署於2005年10月推出「職業康復延展計劃」,目的是為因年老或工作能力衰退而無法繼續接受日常工作訓練的庇護工場服務使用者,提供更切合他們的訓練和照顧需要的服務。我們的葵盛工場及田景工場遂於2006年1月正式開辦此服務,而新生會大樓工場、新生農場、竹園綜合培訓中心及石排灣綜合培訓中心亦於2015年2月起開辦此服務。

此服務按每日特定的時間表運作,活動涵蓋基本工作訓練、自我照顧、發展性活動及社會參與等範疇,藉以維持服務使用者的整體生活質素。

 

我們的服務

  • 提供基本工作訓練以維持服務使用者的工作習慣,保持良好的活動及協調能力;
  • 透過自我照顧訓練增加服務使用者對個人健康、衛生、運動及家居安全等方面的認識;
  • 舉辦社區生活技巧訓練及多元化的興趣班,鼓勵他們善用餘暇;
  • 安排社交及社區參與活動,擴闊他們的社區網絡。
  •  

    服務對象及收納準則

    此計劃為以下精神病康復者或其他殘疾人士提供服務:

    • 工場、綜合培訓中心服務使用者因年老或工作能力衰退而不宜繼續日常職業康復訓練;
    • 60歲或以上 (不需評估);
    • 40至59歲 (需接受評估,並合乎資格)。

     

    申請及退出服務

    • 申請服務: 合資格服務使用者由庇護工場/綜合培訓中心轉介至職業康復延展計劃前,向康復服務中央轉介系統提交名單以供審批。
    • 如服務使用者不適合或不願意繼續接受服務,社工/個案工作員會為其制定退出服務計劃。

     

    服務收費

    全免

     

    聯絡我們

    服務單位 電話 傳真 電郵
    香港島
    石排灣綜合培訓中心
    香港石排灣邨碧輝樓LG3樓一號
    2552 4202 2814 7577 spwiwc@nlpra.org.hk
    九龍
    新生會大樓庇護工場
    九龍南昌街332號新生會大樓二至三樓
    2778 6023 2778 6023 nlbsw@nlpra.org.hk
    竹園綜合培訓中心
    九龍竹園(北)邨橡園樓地下101-108及117-124室
    2324 9974 2328 5178 cyiwc@nlpra.org.hk
    新界
    葵盛庇護工場
    新界葵涌葵盛西邨第九座地下101-104,106及108室, 第十座地下101-118室
    2428 8711 2485 1833 ksw@nlpra.org.hk
    田景庇護工場
    新界屯門田景邨田樂樓第十座地下9-24號
    2466 0068 2464 6960 tkw@nlpra.org.hk
    新生農場
    新界屯門新福路33號
    2461 8385 2456 3201 nlf@nlpra.org.hk

    回頁頂

     

    食物分享計劃

    為喚起大眾減少浪費食物及鼓勵捐贈剩餘食物的意識,本會獲食物分享基金資助,於2012年10月及2013年4月起,分別於黃大仙區及屯門區推行為期3年的食物分享計劃,並於2015年6月獲得環境及自然保育基金撥款,將食物分享計劃延伸至葵涌及荃灣區,讓更多有需要的人士受惠。每項計劃每天向100名受助人派發每人約1公斤食物。計劃運作至今獲得食物捐贈機構及社區人士的支持及正面評價。

    本會至今與超過38個食物捐贈機構建立緊密合作關係,包括本地供應商、慈善機構、義務組織等。現時,本會更與多個食物捐贈機構如樂餉社、膳心連和惜食堂等成為長期合作伙伴,為更多受助人提供穩定及多樣化的食品。與此同時,本會亦曾多次聯同食物捐贈機構,如UPS、西聯匯款、嘉諾撒聖家書院等舉辦活動予受助人,當中包括義務工作、美食分享、茶聚及惜食活動,把環保和關顧的訊息於社區中傳播。

    本會將聯繫更多合作伙伴及捐贈者,致力推廣食物分享計劃,提高公眾的環保意識,減少浪費食物。

    回頁頂

     

    清潔服務項目

    在真實環境中的工作培訓,能提昇康復者融入社會及促進他們的復元歷程。有見及此,本會與不同的政府部門及私人機構合作,為康復者提供在社區的清潔訓練項目。本會在1995年開始跟當時的漁農自然護理署合作,由職員及康復者在西貢郊野公園提供清潔及支援服務,亦是我們提供社區清潔培訓的第一個合作項目。

    在過去的20年間,本會致力為合作伙伴提供有質素的清潔服務。在2010年,本會為葵青區超過90個清潔場地申領ISO9001:2008質素保證系統證書,並成功獲香港品質保證局頒發,以表揚本會對清潔項目質素方面的著重,該證書亦於2013年獲續發,為期3年。

    現時我們有超過260位康復者每天於93個場地接受清潔工作訓練,項目如下:

    2014至2015年度之政府清潔服務合約

    批出部門 服務合約
    漁農自然護理署 大龍獸醫化驗所
    大龍實驗農場
    食物及環境衛生署 衞生教育展覽及資料中心
    石湖墟市政大廈
    大成街街市大廈
    康樂及文化事務署 鰂魚涌市政大廈
    葵青區康樂場館
    九龍城市政大廈
    香港電台 香港電台

     

    私人機構

    日經日本語學校
    連卡佛(香港)有限公司

    回頁頂

     

    與機構合作

    香港洲際酒店

    香港洲際酒店廚師在2014年5月10日為103位參與田景工場食物分享計劃的長者準備午餐自助餐,展現親切的關心。同時,義工們亦為參加者預備遊戲及禮品包,為長者們帶來一個充滿關心及愛的下午。

    本會於2015年與香港洲際酒店更進一步合作,新生農場劃出一片農地種植有機蔬菜,供應予香港洲際酒店的餐廳。此外,香港洲際酒店的廚師亦到該農地拍攝,宣傳與本會之合作。

     

    UPS

    本會獲UPS資助,舉辦由2014年7月開始為期2年的「UPS Green Volunteers – From Farm to Community Project」。項目不單支持本會添置農務器材及食物分享計劃,更以向公眾推廣環境保護及健康生活概念為目標。

    項目的支票頒贈典禮於2014年7月10日舉行,由UPS慈善基金主席Mr. Eduardo Martinez、本會職業康復及就業服務小組委員會主席余枝勝醫生及本會行政總裁游秀慧女士主禮。超過90位UPS義工亦於10月份到訪新生農場參與一系列的農務活動,包括收割有機蔬菜供200位食物分享計劃的參加者分享。

     

    華潤物業有限公司

    石排灣綜合培訓中心於2015年1月獲邀成為「CRB Green Life 2015」活動的協作單位,此活動由華潤物業有限公司,聯同Brim 28多間餐廳,以及新生精神康復會、香港公平貿易動力、基督教勵行會及香港瑜伽教練協會合作舉辦,向公眾推廣綠色生活,宣揚保護地球的訊息。

    回頁頂

     

    社區項目 - 與中小學校合作

    為加強社區人士對精神健康及康復者的認識及了解,本會與中小學校合作,把復元理念推廣至中小學生。

    田景庇護工場於2014年起邀請區內中小學校參與「木工情」工作坊。職員先向學生介紹工場及認識精神健康,再由接受過木工訓練的服務使用者與學生分享其木工的技能。學生於服務使用者協助下,一起設計及製作產品。藉着彼此的接觸互動,加強學生對康復者的認識,促進傷健共融,並建立康復者積極的形象,帶出復元理念。

    工場於2014年7月及2015年8月分別邀請台山商會小學和天水圍官立中學之學生參與此工作坊,學生反映活動能提升他們對工場及精神健康之認識。單位將繼續邀請更多區內的學校參加「木工情」工作坊,向社區人士推廣復元理念。

    回頁頂

     

    自力更生綜合就業援助計劃

    本會由2001年起開始在黃大仙、深水埗、荃灣及葵涌區營辦深入就業援助計劃,致力協助低收入及失業人士,重投就業市場。2013年1月1日起,本會於葵青區為領取綜援人士提供為期27個月 的「自力更生綜合就業援助計劃」,其後社會福利署將計劃延期24個月至2017年3月31日。透過一站式綜合就業援助服務,包括就業輔導、職業培訓、提升工作推動力、就業配對等,鼓勵及協助綜援受助人重新投入就業市場,自力更生。除了提供就業輔導和求職軟性技巧訓練外,計劃亦著重透過參與工作體驗服務,建立受助人的工作習慣,增加其受聘機會。為顧及服務使用者個人需要及其身體狀況,本會開拓更多工作體驗服務場地。

    回頁頂

     

    園藝治療服務

    園藝治療以植物作為媒介,連接人們與大自然。人們透過親身接觸植物、遊覽治療性園藝景觀、進行以植物為素材的手工藝活動等,體驗從植物而來的療癒力量,達到身體、認知、情緒、精神、社交等方面康盛滿足的效果。

    本服務提供:

    • 支援會內職業康復、住宿服務及社區服務單位的園藝治療服務,透過園藝治療向康復者推廣身心靈健康概念;
    • 場地及設施可進行園藝治療師實習培訓和園藝治療活動 (包括新生互動農場設有多感觀花園及園藝活動室) ;
    • 外展培訓和園藝治療小組服務。

    此外,本服務歡迎與合作伙伴進行園藝治療臨床應用研究,促進本地園藝治療的發展。

    回頁頂

     

    環境及自然保育基金計劃

    廚餘出菇大行動

    本會獲環境及自然保育基金撥款以資助由2014年10月開始為期2年的「廚餘出菇大行動」項目。除有關廚餘回收的教育講座外,本計劃亦會教授製作可於室內環境的蘑菇樽,讓市民於家居或辦公室培植,以推動綠色生活及減少廚餘。同時,本會與香港洲際酒店、天水圍區的街市店舖及其他機構建立良好的合作關係,定期收取咖啡渣和剩食等廚餘以製作蘑菇培養土。

    回頁頂

     

    康盛生活計劃

    面對老齡化趨勢,職業康復服務為康復者的個人概況及需要進行了評估,以為他們提供全面的支援。現時本會庇護工場內約有35%的康復者年齡超過50歲以上,可見職業康復服務在需求上的轉變。現時康復者除了在工作能力、體能、認知能力和日常運作方面隨著年齡增長而逐步退弱之外,其他健康問題亦漸漸出現,包括高血壓、糖尿病等。因此,本會自2013年開始於職業康復服務模式加入新的服務元素及方向,展開了專為年長精神病康復者及智障人士而設的社區支援計劃,為康復者提供全面照顧和配合他們不斷變化的需要。

    此計劃由香港上海匯豐銀行透過「香港公益金四十五週年基金」計劃撥款資助。 計劃為期3年,為360名康復者服務,並以年齡55歲以上及缺乏社會支援的康復者優先。此計劃涵蓋了預防、及早發現警號及採取盡早介入措施。專業人員包括職業治療師及保健員在計劃中向康復者提倡積極晚年生活、推動他們投入參與以提升身心健康。

服務範圍

回頁頂