CORE SERVICES

Residential Services

Support Services & Projects Program

 

Halfway House Day Training Program

Service Target

  • People in recovery of mental illness who are recently admitted to halfway houses and have not yet received any vocational rehabilitation training.

 

Service Aim

  • Providing pre-vocational training for service users through participating different work tasks and therapeutic group to build up their work motivation, work habits and work skills so as to prepare them to engage in different occupations and to work independently in open or supported employment.
  • Meanwhile, by participating pre-vocational training, personalized interventions and different activities would be given to service users to enhance their work-related social skills and develop a healthy and work-life balanced lifestyle.

 

Service Approach

  • Day Training Program (DP) provides different work tasks for systematic work training, ranging from cleansing, handicraft, horticulture, retail service, material import and clerical work, in order to enhance service user’s engagement and develop personal strengths. Besides, all work tasks have at least 2 gradations designed for service users of different motivation and potential, so as to promote optimal level of participation.
  • To uphold the principle of recovery model and work-life balance, DP also developed different program policies and schemes with regards to the Association development and service needs to nurture a better recovery and well-being environment for service user to take part in.
  • For example, "Trainee Rewarding Scheme” and "Trainee Forum” are developed according to the Recovery-Oriented Quality Assurance guideline of the Association, to reward service users showed higher level of assertiveness and participation.
  • DP also has schemes like "Customized Work Task” and "Trainee Music Station”, to flexibly modify our training task and environment to welcome service users with different aptitudes and interests respectively.

 

Service Content

    Followings are different job tasks in Day Training Program (DP):


    Customized Work Task:

    An individually designed training task formulated by Occupational Therapist of DP according to service user’s unique aptitudes and special needs. Different interests and activities could be transformed into training then replace the regular DP systematic training.

    image Chinese painting

    image Programming practice

    image Knitting


    Cleansing:

    A generic iADL training in DP. Trainee would receive a series of basic household cleansing tutorial and learn knowledge of Occupational Safety and Health. This training also aims at enhance preparing service users to live independently and work in cleansing job.

    image


    Handicraft:

    A conventional training in DP. Trainees can participate in different kinds of handicraft making group according to their interest, ability and strength. All products and art piece will be utilized in hostel co-design scheme or packed into gifts for visitors in order to promote self-efficacy and give meaningful to this occupation.

    image

     

    Horticulture:

    Training gardens are set up at the rooftop of some halfway houses. Seasonal plants would be cultivated for craft-making, decorating and harvest-sharing. The garden can be used for exertional training, mindfulness and transcendental wellbeing groups. It also enhances trainee’s sense of belonging and motivation of co-production.

    image

     

    Retail Service:

    Teaching trainees to operate and manage the hostel retail store independently. This training involves tasks like goods delivery, selling, basic accounting and tally calculation, which allows service users to prepare themselves for working in retail industry.

    image

     

    Purchase and management:

    This task is designed for service users preferred to work with objects and materials. This task greatly trains up the work independence of trainee since it demands trainee to check the amount of materials and products systematically and purchase materials from community venders independently.

    image

     

    Clerical Work:

    This training aims to provide related training tasks such as document processing, filing, statistics, accounting for trainee who would like to apply office work. Some may also receive basic computer skills training. Through simulated clerical training, we can also access and train up trainee’s meta-cognitive ability in processing and documenting information.

    image

     

    Other Activities in Day Training Program:

    Different kinds of activities are provided to service users to improve their understanding to services, facilitate their formulation of career plan, and enhance their social wellbeing.


    Vocational Rehab Service and Onsite Orientation

    image

    image

    ERB service talk and centre visit
    image

    image

    image


    Festival and seasonal activities

    image

    image


    Sports and outing activities

    image

    image

       

      Back to Top

       

      Young Adult Education & Support Services

      Service Introduction

      Young Adult Education & Support Services (YES) is a special designed service which aims at meeting the needs of the young PIRs of the Association especially those in residential services. We encourage the young adults to strengthen their self-identity, establish positive values and attitudes as well as interpersonal relationship through diversified intervention and youth-oriented activities, so as to build up a holistic and healthy life.

      Our Aims

      YES aims at cultivating our young PIRs of their personal strengths and personality, promoting community participation and building up self-confidence, successful experiences and peer support networks so as to achieve self-directed recovery.

       

      Service Approach

      YES provides a wide range of activities and group to cater for the developmental needs and characteristics of young adults. They are grouped under 4 series of program modules, namely ‘Interactive Module”, ‘Adventure Based Activities’, ‘Sports’ and ‘Experiential Activities’. Each series includes different forms of experiential / developmental groups and activities, such as personal growth groups, social and occupational skills training, outdoor and adventure activities, sports training, WRAP groups and community experiential activities, etc.

      Interactive Modules is a series of young-style packaging interactive courses. It provides an opportunity for in-depth discussions and sharing with young adults on topics like social relationship and work etc., allow time for reflection of the past experience and brainstorm future plan.

      image Participants learn better way of communication through interactive games

      Sports and exercise training

      Through sports and exercise training, YES aims at strengthening the willpower and team spirit of young adults in pursuing their goals. In the process, they show support to each other.

      image ‘3 on 3 Basketball Competition’ provides young PIRs with the opportunity to show their talent and work as a team

      Adventure Based Activities

      We organize different kinds of adventure based activities with the theme of "Challenge myself, breakthrough convention” so as to create successful experience for the participants, through which they have better grasp of their strengths and talents.

      image Enjoying the challenge of canoeing

      Experiential activities

      Young PIRs brave through the challenges of experiential activities. In the process, they learn problem solving, respect and accept differences among people, and care about others.

      imageCommunity indoor war game experiential activity.

      "Many people say it is not an easy task of outdoor camping, however, I don’t think so. I enjoy very much to get closer to the nature.” Said by Mickey.

      Mickey recalled that it’s so touching when he shared his stories and feelings in the campfire and gained support from others. Also, everyone was so united and helpful in preparing dinner. Some people went to get water and some were cooking. Despite the food was not particularly tasty, the process and feeling of togetherness, contributing and supporting each other was an unforgettable experience.

       

      Back to Top

       

      Volunteer Work of Residential Services

      Service Introduction

      A 3-year volunteer service development project "WE Care” was initiated by Residential Services in April 2013. Our volunteer team is very honoured to have the valuable support from the Hong Kong Police Force and other corporate partners to participate with our people in recovery of mental illness (PIR) in volunteer training and services organized by "WE Care” so as to achieve the ultimate goal of social inclusion and equal participation.

       

      Our Aims

      To advocate the spirit of volunteerism as a new attitude of life and mobilize our PIR to provide care for the deprived such as homebound elderly and physically disabled people.

       

      Our Services

      Caring @ Volunteer program

      Visit to the Homebound Elderly started since 2013. Most of elderlies are suffering from chronic diseases; some are even lacking basic necessities. Our volunteers provide simple health check such as Body Mass Index, Fat Ratio and Blood Pressure, home cleaning service, and organize festive activities. A trustful relationship has been built between volunteers and the elderly while our volunteers are dedicated to improve the elderly’s wellness and cater for their social needs. A volunteer leader said: "We may not be able to change their lives, but we can help light them up with love and care”.

      Health Promotion Day for Elderly is launched in the community to bring across the message of health through interactive activities. Awareness on health of elderly is also enhanced by introducing aerobic exercises and inviting medical professionals to give health talk.

      Mobility Voluntourism provides companion to the Rehabus passengers and assists them in transportation and sight-seeing in Hong Kong.

       

      Learning @ Volunteer

      Volunteers are recruited through "WE Care Training Program” from residential units, corporate organizations and the Hong Kong Police Force to spread the message of "serve one another” in the community. A series of trainings on knowledge and skills in basic health check, use of wheelchair and volunteerism are provided to equip them to be a 'WE Care volunteer'. They will participate in our volunteer programs to care for and promote the health of the elderly and people with physical disabilities in different districts.

      "WE Care Leadership Program” strengthens the leadership skills of volunteers with potential. This program also allows our PIR to understand their strengths and talents. They will be invited to put their ideas of care and concern into actions by planning and organizing volunteer services in the local community and at the same time put the recovery concepts into practice.

       

      Greening @ Volunteer

      Go-green programs include gardening in residential units and outdoor field programs such as clean-up of the beach and country park, and tree-planting to allow the volunteers to contribute to environmental protection and experience the nature.

       

      Rejoicing @ Volunteer

      Volunteer Award Presentation Ceremony cum Annual Gathering is an annual signature event of WE Care Volunteer Team. Service awards will be given to 3 participating units and 3 individual volunteers with highest service hours to recognize their contribution and keep the momentum going.

      Learning @ Volunteer - training provided to Hong Kong Police Force on the spirit of voluntarism of New Life and principles of recovery

      image

      Caring @ Volunteer program - Hong Kong Police Force visited New Life Building Long Stay Care Home and distributed lucky bags to the service users.

      image

      Rejoicing @ Volunteer - The Annual Volunteer Award Presentation Ceremony cum Fun Day is a remarkable occasion for the WE Care Volunteers. Awards are given to the outstanding volunteers to express our appreciation of their contributions.

      image

      Caring @ Volunteer program – Over 80 WE Care volunteers helped conveying health message to the elderly in the community.

      image

      Caring @ Volunteer program - Basic health check such as blood pressure and BMI measurement was provided in the Elderly Health Promotion Day.

      image

      Greening @ Volunteer - A snapshot of clean-up the seashore at Tai O

      • image
      • image

      Caring @ Volunteer program – WE Care volunteer as a companion for the physically disabled in local tour

      • image
      • image

      Learning @ Volunteer – Training on the use of wheelchair and understanding of physical disability by Occupational Therapist

      • image
      • image

      Learning @ Volunteer – "WE Care Leadership Program” facilitates the potential leader’s personal breakthrough to attain a higher level of volunteer mission.

      • image
      • image

       

Scope of Services

Back to Top

核心服務

住宿服務

支援服務與計劃

 

 

過渡期宿舍日間訓練

服務對象:

  • 剛入住過渡期宿舍或暫時未有職業服務安排的康復者

 

服務目的:

  • 為服務使用者提供職前訓練,讓他們能選擇參與不同的工作訓練及治療小組,以建立及培養工作動機,工作習慣及工作技能,為日後參與不同活動及工作就業作好準備。
  • 與此同時,藉由參與職前訓練,服務會提供不同的治療及活動,以提昇服務使用者的工作社交技巧及建立健康平衡的生活模式。

 

服務模式:

  • 日間訓練服務會提供不同的訓練項目作有系統的職前培訓,包括清潔、手作、園藝、零售、外購、以及文書,從而鼓勵服務使用者參與和發展個人專長。同時每項訓練都清晰地分作兩至三級程度,使服務使用者能依據其意願及能力參與合適程度訓練,以提高投入感。
  • 為貫徹會方的復元模式及職業治療的生活平衡之概念,日間訓練亦於服務上推行不同的相關政策及方案,為服務使用者凝造更良好的服務氣氛及發展空間,邀請他們參與其中。
  • 例如,「學員獎勵計劃」及「學員大會」就是於會方推行的復元為本服務素質保証文件下衍生的方案,旨在鼓勵敢於主動提出個人意見及表揚熱心參與服務發展的學員。
  • 日間訓練亦有「自主研修」及「理想點音樂站」等方案,主動於訓練項目及日常環境上提供彈性以配合學員的才能及興趣發展。

 

服務內容

以下為不同訓練項目之介紹:


自主研修﹕

職業治療師應服務使用者要求為其個人強項或特殊需要設計獨立的訓練內容。依據不同興趣及活動的本質,改換成訓練形式,代替日間訓練常設之訓練。

水墨畫

程式編寫練習

編織

 

清潔﹕

基礎日常生活技能訓練。學員會接受一系列基本家居清潔和職業安全健康教學,旨在提昇服務使用者之生活技能及工作能力以準備未來獨立生活或工作。

 學員按不同的能力、特性分工進行清潔工作

 

手作﹕

日間訓練常設項目。學員能根據其興趣、能力及強項參與不同種類的手工製作。所有學員的製成品皆會善用於本會宿舍的共建美化或參觀贈品等用途,由此增強學員成功感及為訓練增添意義。

 學員合作製作手工藝產品


園藝﹕

利用設於各宿舍的訓練花園種植季節性的植物,作手作、美化及品嚐分享之用。訓練花園亦能用作體能訓練、靜觀體驗及心靈健康小組的埸地。同時,經過共同栽種植物及建設花園,學員對服務之歸屬感及投入感則能得以提昇。


零售﹕

教導學員獨立營運及管理宿舍小賣部。此訓練涉及貨品管理、銷售、運算、看帳等技巧,讓有興趣投身零售服務的服務使用者能充分裝備相關技能。

 

外購及庶務﹕

此訓練為適合或擅長處理物品及材料的服務使用者而設。訓練學員能經此訓練大大提昇其工作獨立性,因為訓練多數時間需要學員有系統及自主地管理部門物資,並能獨立於社區的店鋪取貨入貨。

 

文書﹕

此訓練目的為有意申請文職工作的學員提供記錄、歸檔、統計、會計、 甚至基本電腦使用等工序訓練。於參與模擬文職訓練的同時,亦能觀察及強化學員於資訊處理及記錄訊息的後設認知能力。

學員協助電腦文書、文件存檔等工作


其他活動﹕

提供不同種類的活動予服務使用者以深化對不同服務的認識,增強訂立工作計劃的能力,及豐富其社交活動及圈子。


職業復康服務及實地導向


再培訓局講座及中心參觀


節慶活動


運動及外出活動


 

回頁頂

 

青年學堂

我們的服務

《青年學堂》是一個在現有的復康服務以外,專為青年康復者需要而發展的服務計劃,並輔以切合青年康復者興趣和個人成長的介入手法及活動,鼓勵青年人在復元的過程中強化自我,確立正面的價值觀、生活態度、人際關係等,達致整全健康的生活。

服務對象

《青年學堂》旨在協助青年康復者發展個人的獨特優勢及性格長處、鼓勵社區參與、建立自信、成功經驗及朋輩支援網絡,實踐自我導向的個人復元。

 

服務內容

《青年學堂》按青年人的成長需要和特質,將服務內容分為四個系列,包括《互動課程》、《野外歷奇》、《運動訓練》及《體驗活動》。每個系列均包括不同形式的成長體驗式小組及活動,如個人成長小組,社交及求職技巧訓練,野外歷奇活動,運動發展訓練,身心健康小組及社區體驗活動等。

 

《互動課程》是以年輕人風格包裝的互動課程,環繞社交及工作等範疇,與年青人作深入探討及互相學習,協助年青人反思過去經歷及計劃將來。

透過互動體驗式遊戲,實踐及學習不同的溝通方式和社交技巧。

 

《運動訓練》

透過定期的運動訓練,培養青年人的團隊合作精神,以及追求目標的意志力,並藉此建立朋輩支援網絡及健康的生活習慣。

「3on3復康籃球比賽」為青年康復者提供展現個人能力及團體合作的機會。

 

《野外歷奇》

透過各種新穎的形式接觸大自然,藉著以「挑戰自我,突破框框」作主題的歷奇活動,為參加者創造成功經驗,發現個人優勢及性格長處。

參與獨木舟活動,挑戰自我!

 

《體驗活動》

以新奇有趣的社區活動,鼓勵青年人關心社區、學習尊重及包容不同人的差異,提昇他們的解難能力,豐富他們的生活經驗,以及增加面對挑戰的信心。

室內模擬槍擊訓練活動體驗

米奇「很多人說參加野營要睡在郊外很辛苦,但我並不覺得,反而很享受與大自然的接觸。」他記得在營火會上,與大家分享自己的故事和感受,得到其他人的支持,更令他感到意外和感動。另外,在野外煮食,每個人要分工合作,有的取水,有的煮食,雖然食物不是特別美味,但過程中所付出的努力及互相補足,卻是一個難忘的經歷。

 

回頁頂

 

"We Care 共善行”

服務簡介

自2013年4月,住宿服務開展了一個為期三年的義工服務發展計劃- 「共善行」。共善行義工隊得到香港警務處及其他企業夥伴的寶貴支持,與我們的康復者建立協作關係,一同參與本會所舉辦的義工訓練及服務,並以達致實踐社會共融和平等參與為最終目標的願景。

 

服務目的

「共善行」提倡以義工服務精神作為一種新的生活態度,動員康復者關懷弱勢社群,如居家長者及肢體殘疾人士,協助他們融入日常生活中。

 

服務內容

愛善行

我們於2013年開展了不同地區的「居家長者探訪計劃」。大部分的居家長者均患有慢性疾病,有的甚至無法滿足生活上的基本需要。我們的義工為居家長者提供簡單的健康檢查,包括量度身體質量指數,脂肪率和血壓,並為他們清潔家居及舉辦節慶活動。義工與長者建立了互信關係,並致力於改善長者的健康和滿足其社交需要。其中一位義工對我們說:「我們可能無法改變他們的生活,但我們可以以愛與關懷燃亮他們的生活。」

 

長者健康推廣日」以互動的活動形式,透過遊戲帶出長者健康信息;並藉一起進行帶氧運動,以及邀請專業醫療人士主講健康講座,提高老年人的健康意識。

「復康巴士本地遊伴送服務」為復康巴士的乘客,提供結伴同行的夥伴,一同參觀本地著名觀光點、購物和野餐。

 

學善行

學善行透過「義工訓練課程」向各住宿服務單位、企業組織及香港警察招募義工,藉以傳揚彼此服務的信息。我們藉著一系列的課程,為共善行的義工提供基本健康檢查的知識及技巧、輪椅操作技巧,以及義工服務的認識。完成訓練課程後,他們需要參與義工服務活動,於不同地區實踐關懷長者及殘疾人士的健康。

學善行亦透過「領袖訓練課程」發展具領袖潛能的義工,加強他們的領導技巧。訓練課程內容包括讓康復者了解他們的個人優勢和才華,並讓他們策劃、組織,以及於社區中推行義工服務活動,在他們的關懷行動中實踐復元概念。

 

綠善行

綠化計劃包括住宿單位的園藝活動和戶外實地活動,如清理海灘、郊野公園,以及植樹活動等,讓義工為環保出一分力,並為他們提供體驗與大自然對話的機會。

 

樂善行

義工嘉許禮暨週年聚會是共善行一年一度的標誌性項目。為肯定義工的貢獻及激發他們的動力,我們特別設立服務嘉許獎項予最高服務時數之三個服務單位及三位個人義工。

 

學善行-為香港警察提供培訓,讓他們對新生會義工服務精神及「復元」原則有更深入的認識。

警察義工探訪新生會大樓長期護理院,並派發「福袋」予服務使用者

樂善行-週年義工頒獎典禮暨同樂日是「共善行」一個標誌性的活動。我們藉此向表現傑出的義工頒發獎項,以表揚他們對義工服務的貢獻。

愛善行-超過80名「共善行」義工參與社區服務日,為區內長者推廣健康信息。

愛善行-超過80名「共善行」義工參與社區服務日,為區內長者推廣健康信息。

綠善行-大澳海岸清潔活動

愛善行-共善行義工於遊覽活動中擔當肢體殘疾人士的遊伴

職業治療師教導輪椅的操作方法及對肢體殘疾人士的了解。

學善行-共善行義工領袖訓練促進個人突破,達至更高水平的義工使命

 

服務範圍

回頁頂