PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

Person with Autism Spectrum Order and Caregiver Learn to Reignite Hope amid COVID-19

Person with Autism Spectrum Order and Caregiver Learn to Reignite Hope amid COVID-19

Click here back to April 2022 E-Newsletter

 

The month of April is the World Autism Month, while 2 April is declared by The United Nations General Assembly as the World Autism Awareness Day. Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is a neurodevelopmental disorder, characterized by different degrees of impairment and deviance in the development of social communication, cognition and emotions, and presence of restricted, repetitive patterns of behaviors and interests as well as sensory processing problems. For Person with Autism Spectrum Order (PWA), the pandemic surely has aggravated the burden on their shoulders.


Ching Ho’s sharing

Ching Ho is one of the service users in New Life’s support services for PWA for over five years. In the midst of the fifth wave of the pandemic, when hundreds of places were listed in the compulsory testing notice, he had to undergo eight compulsory tests in just one month.

"I was so anxious and worried when I was told to have the PCR test. And I was afraid that a positive test result could be coming. Those cold and rainy days made me feel dreary and miserable… I would rather not talk or even think about it.”

---- Ching Ho

Ching Ho’s mother

Ching Ho used to spend an hour everyday in the MTR to go across the harbour to a social enterprise bakery where he works. However back to the time when the number of confirmed cases surged, Ching Ho’s anxiety lifted too. He was worried of being exposed to the virus on the way to the workplace. Knowing his concern, Ching Ho’s mother decided to apply for leave for her son to stay at home. Nevertheless, in early March, Ching Ho was shocked and terrified as he had tested positive by the Rapid Antigen Test (RAT). "It was devastating, I could hardly believe that……I was afraid that my family would be infected, but then I was anxious that I would be forced to leave my mother and my home and be isolated in an alien environment.”

As a caregiver of Ching Ho, Ching Ho’s mother was also in distress after her son’s infection. Yet she still tried to comfort him, and encouraged Ching Ho to keep up with his favourite activity: baking, which could make him happy and keep him occupied while staying at home. After Ching Ho recovered, she also accompanied him to travel around by MTR, in order to help him overcome the psychological barrier to commute.

"Ching Ho and I had to dine alone after he got infected, I could see his sadness during his first meal alone through his red eyes and tears that were about to drop…… But I just had to calm myself first. He could be easily affected by my emotions.” Ching Ho’s mother said.


Ms Leung, a social worker at the iSPA - Support Center for Persons with Autism, observed that the pandemic clearly aggravates PWAs’ engagement with the outside world as they have fewer chances to communicate, and therefore become more passive, depressive and even self-isolated. The changes brought by the pandemic such as the suspension of physical classes and online classes are also difficult for them to adapt to. They could feel anxious too even when classes resume and hence would require more time to get used to it. Ms Leung recommends PWAs to relieve their stress and anxiety by practicing mindful exercises, and taking more exercises about social communications.


Get to know what PWAs need

The latest data from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention indicates about one in 44 children has been identified with ASD, implying a growth trend when compared to a previous figure that suggests one in 54 children was estimated to have ASD. New Life’s iSPA Support Centre for Persons with Autism is a subvented service funded by the Social Welfare Department to provide support and consultation services to PWAs, caregivers and frontline workers since March 2019.

This service is designed to strengthen PWAs’ social competence, employability and emotional management with goals in independent living and social integration through comprehensive assessments in PWAs’ developmental needs, customized services for PWAs and support services for caregivers.

To learn more about iSPA: https://spahk.nlpra.org.hk

Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

染疫生活 自閉症與照顧者學習重拾希望

染疫生活 自閉症與照顧者學習重拾希望

按此返回New Life 電子通訊 2022年4月號

 

每年4月是世界自閉症月,而4月2日是聯合國定下的「世界自閉症關懷日」(World Autism Awareness Day)。自閉症譜系障礙是一種與生俱來的發展障礙,患者在社交溝通以至認知、情緒、行為方面都有不同程度的困難和發展差異。疫情下,自閉症患者更是面對重重挑戰。


政浩的經驗分享

政浩是一名自閉症患者,參與了新生精神康復會 (新生會) 自閉症人士支援服務超過5年。在第五波疫情爆發初期,本港多個地方被列入强制檢測,政浩在短短一個月内做8次的强制檢測。

「最初知道要做深喉唾液檢測,感到十分焦慮和擔心,還有就是害怕最後結果不是陰性。那時做檢測又冷又下雨,氣氛好像很冷清、凄涼……現在回想起,也不太想再提起。」-- 政浩

政浩的媽媽

政浩平日要花一小時乘搭港鐵「過海」到麵包社企上班。隨著疫情漸趨嚴峻,他的焦慮感日益增加,害怕上班乘車會增加感染風險。政浩媽媽眼見兒子情緒低落,故幫忙向社企請假,讓兒子減少外出。豈料3月初,政浩進行快速測試時呈陽性結果,瞬間讓他晴天霹靂,「知道確診的一刻,整個人都崩潰了,覺得是無法接受……我最擔心會傳染給家人,也很驚要離開屋企、離開媽媽,自己一個去隔離營,面對陌生的環境。」

作為照顧者的政浩媽媽,在兒子快速測試確診陽性後,亦面對十分大的壓力。縱使自己内心緊張不已,亦不忘安撫兒子的情緒。為免政浩在家中無所事事,政浩媽媽鼓勵兒子在家繼續整麵包,保持樂觀正面情緒。政浩康復後,媽媽陪著政浩搭地鐵到其它地方散步,幫助兒子克服害怕獨自乘搭交通工具的心理難關。

「確診後要分開吃飯,首餐飯明顯見到兒子很不開心,雙眼通紅、想喊……我先要平復自己的情緒,萬一我不開心、焦慮就會影響他。」 -- 政浩媽媽


新生會朗程牽社工梁姑娘觀察到疫情對自閉症人士的社交溝通造成負面影響,他們減少了與人接觸,變得更内向及情緒更為低落,他們甚至愈來愈封閉自己。他們在面對停課、網課的變動亦顯得難以適應,即使重返校園也會對人產生焦慮,需要更多時間適應。她建議自閉症士可以透過靜觀練習來減低壓力和憂慮,及多做社交溝通的相關訓練。


關注自閉症人士需要

早前美國疾病控制及預防中心(CDC)公布最新數據,當中每44名兒童就有一名是自閉症患者,較以往數據的每54名兒童有一名患有自閉症患者的指數字上升。新生會於2019年獲社會福利署撥款資助,設立朗程牽為自閉症人士、其家長/照顧者及前線同工提供支援及諮詢服務。

服務全面評估自閉症人士的成長需要,制定個人化的介入服務和家長/照顧者支援服務,並以個案管理形式跟進。藉此強化他們的社交、就業及情緒管理等能力,裝備他們面對不同成長階段的挑戰,提升獨立生活能力,融入社會。

了解更多朗程牽自閉症人士支援中心服務:https://spahk.nlpra.org.hk

回頁頂