PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

Clinically Proved CBT - Holistic Approach to Help Patients with Different Physiological Needs

Clinically Proved CBT - Holistic Approach to Help Patients with Different Physiological Needs

Like Judy’s case, when we fell into emotional crisis after breaking up with our partner, it is clinically proved that using Holistic Cognitive Behavioral Therapy can help the people with more than one emotional problem.


First of all, what is CBT?

There are different kinds of therapies in psychological therapy area. CBT, which targets on mentality and behavior to improve patient’s emotional status has been clinically tested to be effective. Being directed against the specific sickness, such as Depression Disorder, Panic Disorder or Social Phobia, CBT has been developed into different branches.

However, according to the scientific researches on mental illnesses for the past ten years, they share similarity in mechanism in five aspects:

1.
Aversion to negative emotion
2.
Attention bias - Tending to focus on negative stimulation and overlook the positive ones
3.
Cognitive distortion
4.
Maladaptive and Repetitive thinking processes 
- leads to their rewinding of unhappy experience of the past and worry of the future
5.
Emotional driven behavior


Against Common Psychological Mechanism to Dissolve Cognitive Distortion

In Judy’s case, she was suffering from both Depression Disorder and Panic Disorder. The joy in life would be easily forgotten, but unhappiness stays for long. When sadness strikes, the sense of failure of herself arises immediately. 

Negative emotions would distort Judy’s cognition to things around, such as "I would break down emotionally if I walk pass locations I used to go with my ex-boyfriend”, "My friends must be laughing at me on my back”, or "I may faint if I travel too far by myself”. 

When such negative thinking hovered, her worry is deepened. She feels herself useless for not even being able to control her own mentality. A vicious circle has been formed in her head. However, retreat and escape does not only fail to solve the problem, but on the other hand worsen it. 

In the process of Holistic CBT, we would encourage participant to recognize his or her own emotions and try to enhance the above five psychological mechanisms. Such therapy emphasizes practice to educate participant new mode of thinking and behaving. 

After group therapy, Judy understood that emotion is like a thermometer, reflecting the reality of her life. Regardless of it is negative or positive, emotion has its own function. Therefore, there is no need to suppress or escape from it, only to notice it in a friendly manner.

Holistic CBT aims to cure emotional problem from its root cause, thus patients with different emotional problems can join in the same therapy group. Through experience sharing, we may all understand that emotional up and downs are common in humanity. We may also learn from each other on how to face and handle different emotional distress.


Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

行為治療具臨床實證 整全治療助多方人士

行為治療具臨床實證 整全治療助多方人士

當我們因分手而陷入情緒危機的故事,我們可運用整全認知行為情緒治療,幫助同時有多種情緒問題的人士,就像以下Judy的故事一樣。


何謂整全認知行為情緒治療?

心理治療的範疇中有很多不同的治療,其中認知行為治療最具臨床實證,針對思想和行為,從而改善情緒。認知行為治療一直針對不同的心理疾病而發展,即抑鬱症、驚恐症、社交焦慮症等,都有特定而不同的治療方式。但近十年的科學研究發現,不同的情緒病其實有共同的心理機制;雖然表面的徵狀不同,但背後的心理運作有相似的地方。

我們可綜合出以下五個不同情緒病的共同機制:

1.
不接納負面情緒(aversion to negative emotion)
2.
注意力偏誤(attention bias):即容易留意負面刺激而忽略正面刺激
3.
思想牛角尖(cognitive distortion)
4.
重複而負面的思維(maladaptive and repetitive thinking processes) :即不斷回想過去不快的事情、擔心將來等
5.
感情用事的行為(emotional driven behavior)


針對共同心理機制 拆解牛角尖思想

以Judy的故事為例,她同時有抑鬱症和驚恐症的症狀。生活中即使有愉快的事情她也很容易就忘記,但卻對不快的事情很敏感;同時只要有傷心的情緒,她就覺得自己很失敗。

負面情緒令Judy很容易對事情有牛角尖的看法,例如:「我去以前和男友去過的地方,我的情緒一定受不了」、「朋友在暗地裡取笑我」、「自己一個人去遠的地方很不危險,我可能會暈倒」等。

這些負面思想在她的腦海中揮之不去,她常常擔心情緒會持續;這更令Judy覺得自己沒用,連自己的思想也控制不了,形成惡性循環。而她退縮和逃避的行為,不但沒有解決問題,甚至助長其思想牛角尖。

在整全認知行為情緒治療中,導師會逐步引導參加者認識自己的情緒,並改善以上五個維持情緒病的心理機制。此治療著重實踐,鼓勵參加者在日常生活練習一些新的思考和行為模式,使情緒得以改善。

Judy參加完治療小組後,學習到情緒就像是探熱針一樣,告訴我們的生活的情況,無論是正面或負面的影響都有它們的功能,所以我們不用抑壓或逃避它,而是友善去了解情緒

整全認知行為情緒治療是針對情緒問題的根源,所以有不同情緒困擾的人也可以參加同一個治療小組,讓我們明白情緒起伏是共同人性,透過經驗分享,了解如何面對和改善不同的情緒困擾,也能從彼此身上學習。


回頁頂