PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

The Practice of Mindfulness in Life - Patience

The Practice of Mindfulness in Life - Patience

In such a fast pace modern world, the word "Patience” seems to be out-of-date. Even if such word has been introduced since we were little, we may find it challenging to put in practice. However, the growth of life takes time, and the course varies from person to person. Is there any room for ourselves and things around grow and make changes patiently in this rapidly growing society? Today, we would like to share with you the story of a Mindfulness ambassador and to discover the value of patience.

Learning is important for our growth. The content and goal of study varies in different phases of life. As students, we acquire knowledge from textbooks. As employee, we need to learn occupational skills. Any learning process should be suitable to the specific person and follow its own pace. 

For me as a person with hearing difficulty and other learning obstacles, it usually took more time to obtain new knowledge, and always be commented as "slow” and "time-consuming”.  Therefore, I was so eager to master skills or complete jobs quicker than other people that I tend to compete and compare with them inside my mind in many aspects and blame myself if failed. The overloaded expectation has exerted pressure, worries and anxiety to me which has greatly worsened my performance as well as emotional status during study and working.

In the last two years, I was still in undergraduate study but severely distracted by my father, who had injury at work. I was worried about both study and also my incapability of sharing the burden with my family. The idea of "sooner” kept appearing in my mind. I wished to finish my study sooner so I forced myself to spend more time on it. I wished to help relieve the financial pressure of the family sooner so I found a few part-time jobs. I also wished to give my father sooner recovery and alleviate my mother’s anxiety so I spared time to learn more about my father’s injury. Unfortunately, I fell sick due to not enough rest and fell behind at study, and also have tensed relationship with my father. At that time, my life seemed to be hopeless. I was exhausted and felt great pain in my head. The idea of giving up on my last subject kept hoovering over in my mind.

Fortunately, I had the chance to have deep recognition of Mindfulness. One of its key elements, "patience” has profoundly influenced me. I started to realize that the expectation of having good result on the repeating subject had put me in great anxiety. I had neglected my physical and mental needs which also played important part in achieving better result in study. I also realized that the idea of "hoping my father to recover sooner” was too strong that his own feeling had been seriously overlooked. Since I had better understanding of the significance of "patience”, my mentality became stronger which helps me put together my physical and psychological status for study, and rebuild healthy family relationships.

When facing diverse challenges in different phases of life, the idea of "sooner” would have shown up frequently. When we try to deal with difficulties, worries, excessive expectation or passion, we might easily lose patience to feel our own physical and psychological needs and fail to have tolerance to the people around. It is possible that we would be able to hear and discover the in-depth desire of other people and have closer connection with them if we listen to them with patience. Moreover, the patience may give better care to ourselves by closely observe "me” in difficult time.



Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

靜觀之人生修習:論「耐心」

靜觀之人生修習:論「耐心」

在這個一切都講求「快」的社會,「耐心」似乎是不合時宜,也是格格不入的。就算我們從小聽過「耐心」這老掉牙的兩個字,我們實踐起來卻是無比的困難,更似乎是沒有可能的。然而,生命的成長本需要時間,不同的人有不同的步伐,在這個跟「耐心」背道而馳的社會,還有空間容讓自己、容讓事物按自身的速度展現、變化嗎?今天跟大家分享一位靜觀大使的心路歷程,看看「耐心」的可貴之處。

學習是成長中重要的一環,每個人不同階段都有着不同的學習方向,甚至目標。在中小學階段,可能較多學習書本上的知識;當踏入社會工作的時候,可能會學習到一些職業上的技能等等,學習歷程理應因人而異,按着自己的學習需要、步伐,一步一步的發展。

對於有聽障和其他學習障礙的我而言,學習過程中往往可能需要比其他人花上更多的時間,因此經常被人的評語為「慢」、「耐」。久而久之,經常期望自己能可以快些、盡快完成、比他人快些學到做到等念頭(想法),容易令自己與他人產生「比較」,甚至怪責自己,而這些期望、渴望無形對自己形成不同程度的壓力、擔心、焦慮,繼而影響學習和工作的表現與情緒。

而過去的兩年多,由於爸爸工傷關係未能工作,還在修讀學士的我,當時被事件影響而分心,既擔心自己學業的同時,又擔心自己未能為家庭分憂。因此,那時候經常有着「快些、快些」的念頭:一方面想着快些畢業,於是不停催促自己學習; 另一方面又想着快些幫補家計,於是勤於兼職工作;一方面又想爸爸盡快痊癒和減輕媽媽的憂心,於是將自己的專業知識強加在他和她身上。過程中,沒有足夠休息,導致我經常病倒,學業成績不但再次未如理想。而且,與爸爸的關係也開始有點兒緊張。在那時候的我,感到好像萬念俱灰,個人經常很累、頭痛等,甚至想放棄最後一科。

及後,在偶然的機會下深入接觸了「靜觀」,靜觀其中的一個重要態度—「耐心」,對我的影響非常深遠。明白到,由於我期望以久,十分希望想考好這一重讀科,故此充滿焦急、期待,沒有好好地按照自己的精神狀況去學習和聆聽自己身體的需要。而且,一心只想着爸爸盡快痊癒,忽略了他內在的感受。所以,當我接觸了這「耐心」後,就好像為自己打了支天然的強心針,對於自己的精神狀況和學習慢慢再次重拾,也令到我與家庭的關係再次健康起來。

在成長的不同階段,人總會面對大小不同的挑戰,過程中可能經常會有「快些、快些處理」的念頭。當中,可能由於我們充滿憂心、期盼,又或是滿腔熱誠的去對待、處理,很多時候忽略了以「耐心」的態度去留意自己的生理和心理需要,而且還可能少了一份「耐心」去了解他人。靜靜耐心的聆聽,也許能聆聽到、覺察到身邊人的深層需要,從而更好明白他人的內在,加強彼此的關係。而且,透過「耐心」去提醒自己、覺察自己,更好的了解自己的需要,從而善待自己。



回頁頂