PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

Continuous Learning and Growth

Continuous Learning and Growth

As the classic dialogue says in the well-known movie "Shao Lin Soccer” by Stephen Chow, "A man without dreams has no difference with a salted fish!” Many people share the same thought. A man without dreams is a "salted fish”, and a man to pursue dream is admired by many and called "winner” if succeeded. But what about those who were forced to give in on the midway?


Hair styling had been the interest of Sara who had worked in many salons to absorb experience and learn techniques in such area. She even considered becoming an outstanding hairstylist as her lifetime pursuit in a time, until she served in a large franchised hair salon. That was the first time Sara personally perceived the emotion distress in the industry and witnessed the fierce competition among colleagues with every possible tricks. Things were out of her expectation and she felt very uncomfortable at work. She was pushed out by colleagues and became emotionally stressful. The pressure and mental distress had greatly destroyed her confidence of becoming a good hairstylist, and finally forced her to quit the job. 

Due to emotional distress, Sara could not continue working but have to live on CSSA. Taken the advice from social worker, Sara decided to seek professional help from hospital and was diagnosed depression. During hospitalization, Sara finally managed to settle down emotionally. Apart from participating in academic training under occupational therapy, she also read a number of books regarding depression, hoping to learn more of such disease. To help Sara resume normal life, the hospital had arranged Sara to visit several social enterprises, in which she met New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (New Life).


Having undergone a period of treatment, Sara got referred to Halfway House to re-adapt to social life. Coincidently, one of the social enterprises of New Life - the New Life Restaurant was recruiting trainee. Sara was greatly impressed by its environment and food in her visit. Thus, she decided to apply for transfer to the restaurant and receive training.

In New Life Restaurant, Sara received servicing and cashiering training. Owing to her good performance, she was employed as part-time Assistant with the opportunity to participate in out-of-site event project and become official employee to handle event orders in the office in the future. After the opening of the first cafe330 at the Prince of Wales Hospital, Sara was transferred to be cashier and clerk there.

In Sara’s opinion, social enterprise has given her a safe working atmosphere to help reconnect with the society. Even though hairstylist was her favorite job, the long working hours, low income and the damage of the dyeing material to the skin has rejected her to return to the industry. In addition, Sara loves to try new food, and the work at New Life Restaurant has provided her chances to taste a variety of cuisines, as well as the pleasure to enjoy the result of her own work. 

Disturbed by depression on her way to pursue the dream of becoming a hairstylist, fate had opened up a new door for Sara. People she contacted after diagnosis varied largely with those she met before. It used to be only her colleagues or persons of the same industry. Yet, in the restaurant, she got to meet with students, teachers, medical staff, etc., This broadened her horizons. However, getting along with people had always been the weakness of Sara’s personality. She found that the instability of her emotion had made her more difficult to talk to people. Thanks to her supervisor who showed her the appropriate attitude of working and gave her recognition, Sara managed to show more of her advantages. Gradually, she felt more comfortable to be with other people and began to communicate more with colleagues and customers. 


 "Continuous learning and growth” is the motto of Sara. Sara loved to spend extra time to actively learn knowledge in all areas. She remembered when she was in hospital, she made a lot of effort to memorize the English name of different kinds of coffee. She also walked around the hospital to familiarize herself with the environment in short time, so that when take-away deliverers or patients got lost she might point at the right way. Besides, she not only advanced her study, but also applied for courses in mental health to open up her mind and gear up herself. 

Being diagnosed is a turning point in Sara’s life, but the personality of perfectionism has not changed at all. Sara realized the insufficiency in English when having mental health courses that she lost the qualification to register some interested courses. So, she hopes to spend more time for further study in English and Mathematics and apply for courses she likes to join.   

With new goal in life, Sara refills her confidence to the future and her effort to move forward and grow will be continued.


Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

永不停歇的學習與成長

永不停歇的學習與成長

周星馳於電影《少林足球》中的一句經典對白 - 「做人如果沒有夢想,跟鹹魚沒有分別」道出了很多人的想法。沒有夢想的人會被稱為「鹹魚」、勇於追求夢想的人會被大家羨慕、達成夢想的人會被視為「勝利者」,對於那些可能因為某些原因而被迫中斷夢想的人,他們又是什麼?


髮型設計是Sara的興趣,她任職過多間髮廊,她希望在不同地方以吸收更多經驗,學習不同的髮型設計技巧及造型技術,她曾經以為當髮型師會是其一生的事業,這亦是她追求的夢想。直到她轉職至一間知名的大型髮廊,Sara的人生亦出現了她不可預期的變化。在這間大型髮廊任職,讓Sara初次感受到原來髮型設計這個行業並不是想像中那麼簡單。行內競爭激烈,同事為了成名不惜一切、明爭暗鬥,讓Sara十分不適應。Sara在工作上不但被同事排擠,而且她開始懷疑自己是否仍然適合當一名髮型師,凌亂的想法加上巨大的工作壓力,致使Sara的情緒備受困擾,最終亦因此而被迫辭去工作。

因為情緒問題,Sara不能繼續工作,惟有靠領綜援過生活。後來,在處理綜援的社工建議下入院接受治療,Sara確診患上了抑鬱症。在住院接受治療期間,Sara的情緒終於稍為安穩下來,她除了參與職業治療的文書訓練外,還閱讀大量有關抑鬱症的書籍,希望可以更了解自己的病狀。為了協助Sara可以於出院後重回社會工作,醫院安排了Sara到不同的社企參觀,而Sara亦是在此時認識了新生精神康復會。


經過了一段時間在醫院的診治,Sara終於可以出院並被安排到中途宿舍居住,以重新適應社區生活。恰巧此時新生精神康復會屬下其中一間社企 - 新生餐廳招募訓練學員,而Sara又對新生餐廳的環境與食物留下深刻的印象,所以她由醫院轉介到新生餐廳開始餐飲的訓練。

Sara在新生餐廳主要是接受樓面及收銀的訓練工作,因為工作表現良好,她於新生餐廳受聘成為兼職活動助理,有機會出外協助餐廳的到會項目,及後更成為正式員工,在辦公室處理到會訂單。新生會在威爾斯親王醫院開設第一間cafe330時,Sara亦轉職至此擔任收銀及文書工作。

Sara認為社企讓她可以在一個安全的環境下工作,協助她重新與社會連結起來。以前從事的髮型師行業雖然是她的興趣,但工作時間長、收入不高、染髮物料傷害皮膚等原因,使Sara沒有辦法重回此行業。再加上Sara本身喜歡嘗試新食物,在社企餐飲項目工作,常有機會接觸及品嚐到不同種類的美食,使她可以享受辛勞工作的成果。

縱然抑鬱症中斷了Sara追逐髮型師的夢想,可是為她開啟了另一條道路,患病後她接觸的人與從前有很大的分別。以前她接觸的通常是髮廊的同行,但在餐飲項目工作,她有機會接觸到學生、老師及醫護人員,從而更認識這個社會。然而,Sara認為處理人際關係一直是自己的弱項,覺得很難與其他學員溝通,情緒因而比較波動。不過Sara很感激她的上司以身教去幫助她處理情緒,建立正確的工作態度,同時給予她一份肯定,把她的優點發揮出來。漸漸地,Sara發覺自己在與人相處時比較自在,亦增加了與同事甚至顧客的交流。


「不斷學習、不斷成長」是Sara的座右銘,無論是以前在髮廊,還是現在於cafe330工作,她都會花額外的時間,主動學習各方面的知識。她回憶初到醫院工作時,她努力去背誦各類咖啡的英文名稱;也親身走訪醫院各部門,務求讓自己在最短時間內熟悉環境,以便送外賣及協助問路的病人找到正確的地方。除了進修工作相關的知識,Sara也報讀了不少精神健康的課程開拓眼界,充實自己。

患病是Sara人生中的一個轉折點,但沒有改變她追求完美的個性。在參與精神健康的課程時,Sara發覺因為自己的英語水平不高,讓她失去報讀某些課程的資格。因此她希望在未來可以在工餘的時間進修英文及數學,再選讀自己有興趣的證書課程。

有了新的人生目標,Sara對未來也多了點信心,她依然會努力不懈,在人生的道路上奔跑著。


回頁頂