PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

The Recovery of Yuen

The Recovery of Yuen

According to the statistics of World Health Organization (WHO), there are more than 350 million patients with depression globally, but only less than half of them have received proper treatment. In fact, the number of depression patients receiving appropriate treatment is less than 10% in many countries. It is estimated that up till 2020, depression would climb up to the second position on the Global Diseases Ranking, only below heart disease. Statistically there are over 300,000 Hong Kong residents with depression to different degrees.

Life in Hong Kong is arguably intense. Work, family life, interpersonal relationships and academic studies may all become the sources of stress. In the Hong Kong Mental Morbidity Survey conducted in 2015, there is one person in every seven persons suffer from varied types of mood disorders, including preliminary depression symptoms. Thus, we should actively look at the disease and find out the source of stress and do not neglect the impact it may bring to us. Yuen is a successful example of facing depression with positive manner.

As a 60 year-old lady, Yuen has retired for nearly 8 months now. Before retirement, she worked as an executive in a bank. Yuen has got married for decades and given birth to a son. Since her husband worked mainly in Macau and Mainland China, he seldom returned home or only stayed for one or two days. The couple were mostly in separation due to busy work-life of Yuen. Therefore, the couple can hardly get along with each other.

Not until one year ago Yuen’s husband retired and moved back to Hong Kong and settled down could this couple see each other more frequently. However, Yuen started to realize that she had more and more conflicts with her husband due to trivia matters. At the beginning, she considered it only the lack of communication because of long separation and difference in way of life which may take time to accommodate. But as time went by, Yuen found it harder to face her husband peacefully. The criticism of him on Yuen’s cooking was a typical example that triggered her temper: too salty once, and too tasteless for another time.

Facing the seemingly endless reproach and criticism from her husband, Yuen stated doubting if it was her incapability of handling simple things that caused all the argument and conflicts. After every argument, Yuen felt stressful and frightened. Depression had made Yuen become quiet and backward, always in the fear of triggering the sensitiveness of her husband with her careless mistakes. To avoid staying alone with her husband, Yuen chose to wander around on street aimlessly. The long-term stress had caused Yuen serious insomnia and bad appetite which led to severe weight loss of 10 pounds in a month.

Noticing the change of mother, Yuen’s son, Jun found similarity on his mother’s situation with the symptoms of depression he used to read about in a post forwarded on his friend’s social media page. He tried to talk with his mother and encourage her to seek professional assistance. Understanding the care and worry from the son, Yuen burst into tear and accepted his help. Jun immediately searched on the internet and discovered that the information he read was provided by "eGPS” services under New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association. Jun believed that "eGPS” services could help his mother on the emotion distress and after discussion, he then registered the service for Yuen.

In the first session with the Psychological Well-being Officer (PWO), Yuen poured out all her emotional distress. Having listened to Yuen’s situation, PWO explained to Yuen that she was likely to suffer from depression. Yuen surprisingly recognized her illness after hearing explanation. To help Yuen ease the problem, PWO recommended a therapy namely "Behavioral Experiment” based on Cognitive Behavior Therapy, and suggested that she get prepared for the next meeting by reading the Recovery Story.

In the second session, PWO asked Yuen about her feelings after reading the Recovery Story. Yuen opined that the situation of the character in the story was similar to her, hence she decided to try the "Behavioral Experiment”. Under the guidance of PWO, Yuen finally clarified one of the thoughts when facing her husband’s criticism: "I fail in everything that makes my husband dissatisfied. And conversation never works between us.” So PWO proposed to verify whether this is the truth with ‘Behavioral Experience’. Yuen was willing to discuss with her husband about the solution to the taste of cooking.

Unfortunately, in the third session, Yuen confessed that she did not execute the plan due to lack of courage. PWO encouraged her to make another attempt by inviting her son to take part in the action. With the company of Jun, Yuen eventually managed to discuss the taste of the food with her husband peacefully. Even though still received criticism, Yuen was able to control her emotion and try to find way out. In the end, the husband suggested that she could use a small spoon to measure the portion of sauces when she cooked. This gave Yuen a new idea: "I am able to talk to my husband to sort out things in a peaceful way.”

After ten sessions of practice, Yuen had not only successfully understood the techniques of "Behavioral Experiment” and gotten herself out of the dead end, but also learned to think in a more positive way with flexibility. Taking those unnecessary responsibility off her shoulders, Yuen is now able to communicate with her husband to solve problem. Depression did not defeat Yuen and she also saved her marriage from the brink of separation.

Written by: Ms. Candice POWELL, Clinical Psychologist, New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association

Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

阿雲的復元故事 - 積極面對抑鬱症

阿雲的復元故事 - 積極面對抑鬱症

根據世界衛生組織顯示,全球估計共有3.5億名抑鬱症患者,但只有不到一半的抑鬱症患者獲得所需的治療。事實上,在許多國家,接受正確治療的抑鬱症患者還不到10%。估計到了2020年,抑鬱症會成為全球疾病排行榜的第二位,發病率僅次於心臟病。據統計,本港亦已有超過三十萬人患上不同程度的抑鬱症。

香港人生活緊張已是不爭的事實,工作、家庭、人際關係、學業成績等都已經成為大部份香港人壓力的來源。根據2015年的「香港精神健康調查」,每7個人就有一個有著不同程度的精神健康需要,包括輕度的抑鬱。正視自己的鬱結情緒,找出鬱結所在,不要忽視抑鬱症為自己帶來的影響。阿雲的復元故事便是其中一個正視抑鬱症的成功例子。

阿雲今年60歲,已經退休接近8個月。在退休之前,她在銀行任職文書工作。她與老伴已經結婚數十載,育有一子。由於她的丈夫長期在澳門及內地工作,只會偶爾回家逗留一至兩天,加上阿雲在退休前工作比較忙碌,故兩夫妻相處的時間可謂少之又少。

直至大約一年前,阿雲的丈夫退休後搬回香港長住,他們才有較多機會朝夕相見。最近,阿雲發覺自己與丈夫相處上出現問題,經常因為小事而產生言語上的衝突。她最初以為是因為自己在退休前甚少與丈夫長時間相處,加上生活習慣不同,故導致兩夫婦一時未能適應,需要多點時間磨合。但近來阿雲發現自己對丈夫的要求有點無所適從,例如: 丈夫一時說她煮的餸菜太咸,一時又說她煮得太淡、沒有味道,阿雲面對丈夫難以觸摸的批評,令自己無法平心靜氣地跟他傾談。

面對丈夫沒完沒了的責罵和挑剔,阿雲開始胡思亂想和自責,懷疑自己是否有錯,才導致丈夫對她責罵;為甚麼自己連如此簡單的事情也做得不夠好;為甚麼自己會做成家無寧日的局面。每次因為小事與丈夫爭吵過後,阿雲的思想會更鑽牛角尖。鬱結的情緒,令阿雲越顯得沉默和退縮,她害怕因為自己做得不好,而觸動丈夫的神經。為了避免單獨與丈夫相處,阿雲經常漫無目的地出外逛,因為長期的壓力,阿雲出現失眠、胃口變差等情況,她體重在一個月內暴跌了10磅。

兒子阿俊開始察覺到母親的轉變,他記起自己曾閱讀過朋友在社交網站轉貼有關抑鬱症的症狀,與母親的情況相似,於是他嘗試跟母親傾談,鼓勵她尋求協助。阿雲感受到兒子對自己的關心及擔心,忍不住哭起來,並答應了兒子的請求,接受他幫助自己。阿俊聽後,馬上上網搜尋資料,發現相關資料是由新生精神康復會「情緒GPS」所提供。阿俊細閱「情緒GPS」的服務簡介後,發覺適合母親,與母親商量後,便協助她報名。

與心理健康主任第一次會面時,阿雲訴說了自己的情緒困擾。聽了阿雲的狀況後,心理健康主任向阿雲解釋了她正在經歷的症狀與抑鬱症相似。阿雲聽了講解後,亦驚覺自己可能是有輕度的抑鬱症。為了可以幫助阿雲改善情況,心理健康主任介紹一個以「認知行為治療」為基礎、名為「行為實驗及彈性思考」的方法給阿雲,並建議她在下一次見面前,細閱「復元故事」,為下一次會面作準備。

在第二次見面時,心理健康主任問阿雲看完「復元故事」後的想法,阿雲表示故事主人翁的狀況與她相似,覺得「行為實驗」的方法適合她,並願意嘗試。心理健康主任協助阿雲分辨自己面對丈夫批評時的想法。阿雲的其中一個想法是「我做什麼都做得不好,丈夫對什麼都不滿意,向他反映和商量也不會有用」。心理健康主任提議阿雲以行動測試這個想法的準確度。阿雲想她可以嘗試跟丈夫商量如何解決餸菜味道的問題。

在第三節會面重溫功課時,阿雲坦承沒有實行原先的計劃,因她沒有勇氣去測試。心理健康主任建議她嘗試邀請她的兒子協助。在阿俊的鼓勵下,阿雲嘗試與丈夫平心靜氣地去討論餸菜味道的問題。雖然丈夫還是有所批評,但她努力地去控制自己的情緒,保持冷靜並與丈夫商討解決方法。最後,丈夫建議她去買一個小湯匙用作量度調味料的份量。經過這個測試後,阿雲多了一個新的想法:「原來自己也可與丈夫平心靜氣地商量如何解決問題的。」

經過十節的練習後,阿雲已經成功掌握「行為實驗」的技巧,不再鑽牛角尖,令自己的思考更有彈性。阿雲學會了不再把責任全扛在自己的肩頭上,學懂與丈夫有商有量,一同尋找解決方案。阿雲不單沒有被抑鬱症打敗,還修補了瀕臨破裂的婚姻。

文:新生精神康復會臨床心理學家凌悅雯

回頁頂