PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

Enriching Knowledge of People in Recovery about Environmental Protection, Building an Inclusive Community

Enriching Knowledge of People in Recovery about Environmental Protection, Building an Inclusive Community

Click Here back to Aug 2021 E-Newsletter


Enriching Knowledge of People in Recovery about Environmental Protection, Building an Inclusive Community

For years, New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (New Life) has not only endeavored to promote environmental protection, but also encourages people in recovery of mental illness and their family members to take part in environmental friendly activities in order to build an inclusive society. The environmental protection projects participated by New Life include, 1) Kwai Tsing Community Green Station Project launched in 2019, 2) ECF Food Sharing Project (Kwai Chung and Tsuen Wan) launched in June 2015, 3) ECF Coffee Parade launched in January 2021, and 4) ECF Food Sharing Project (Wong Tai Sin) launched in April 2021.

In this issue, we are going to introduce the ECF Food Sharing Project (Kwai Chung and Tsuen Wan) and ECF Food Sharing Project (Wong Tai Sin), which are both funded by Environmental Conservation Fund. New Life would like to promote the awareness of environmental protection and to alleviate the economic burden of low income individuals. Also, we aim to encourage people in recovery of mental illness and their family members to take part in environmental friendly activities in order to improve their ability of getting along with people and reintegrating into the society. They may also learn more knowledge in terms of environmental protection as preparation for becoming a crucial member of a green society in the future.


Three Steps of ECF Food Sharing Project

Step 1: Recycling and Distributing Food

The team members would collect remaining vegetables, fruits and bread from wet markets and bakeries, and also accept food donation from suppliers. After assuring those recycled food is edible, they would be distributed to the low-income residents in need. All food receivers must go through verification to ensure all foods are genuinely given to people in real need.


Step 2: Environmental Protection Education

With a series of activities such as food-cherishing talks, kitchen waste upgrading workshops and studies of specific topics, the project team hopes to raise the public awareness of food wasting and the latest updates of food crisis worldwide, as well as to share environmental-friendly ideas and ways of their implementation in daily life. Moreover, the project would be working with organizations in different areas to set up promotion booths in convention centres as well as street booths to promote the idea of reducing food wasting to broader base.

 

Step 3: Community Participation

Community recycling is another emphasis of our team’s work. After festival celebrations, our partnering estates, shops and malls would set up food leftovers collecting boxes to encourage Hong Kong residents to donate their festival food leftovers. On the other hand, the project would also encourage volunteers from commercial enterprises to join the food distribution activities to experience the fun of such meaningful project.

 

Beneficiary of the Project

People in need in Wong Tai Sin, including:
  • CSSA Receivers
  • The Disabled
  • Higher Old Age Living Allowance
  • Low-income Families
  • Referred Cases
  •  

    Join New Life:

    Your participation and support is the dynamics of the project and our organization to move on. The following two approaches are open to anyone who wish to build environmental friendly and sustainable community.

    • Food Donation

      Any Sealed Food and Beverage;Fresh Food (Vegetables or Bread);Freeze and Frozen Food

    • Become a Volunteer

      Help collecting, sorting and distributing food;Help in educational activities to promote the idea of food waste reduction

     

    Act now and join our Food Sharing Project!

    Contact
    Unit Tel Email
    ECF Food Sharing Project (Kwai Chung and Tsuen Wan) 2419 2650 ecf_kt@nlpra.org.hk
    ECF Food Sharing Project (Wong Tai Sin District) 2320 3103 ecf_wts@nlpra.org.hk


    Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

提升康復者對環保行業的認識 建構共融關愛社區

提升康復者對環保行業的認識 建構共融關愛社區

按此返回New Life 電子通訊 2021年8月號


提升康復者對環保行業的認識 建構共融關愛社區

新生會一直致力推動環保,及鼓勵精神病康復者及其家人參與,藉此希望可以構建共融社會。新生會參與的環保項目包括:(1) 2019年開始營運的「綠在葵青」項目、(2) 2015年6月起於葵涌及荃灣區推行「食得滿FUN」計劃、(3) 2021年1月起開展的社區減少廢物項目「咖啡巡禮」及 (4)由2021年4月起於黃大仙區推行的「『竹』福分餉」計劃。

於今期電子通訊介紹的「食得滿FUN」計劃及「『竹』福分餉」計劃均由環境及自然保育基金資助。本會希望透過計劃可以一方面推廣環保訊息,幫助區內基層人士;另一方面希望可以鼓勵精神病康復者及其家人參與環保活動,提升他們的待人接物的能力,促進社區共融;同時亦可藉此吸收更多環保知識,為將來投身環保行業做好準備。


食物分享計劃三部曲

第一部:回收及派發食物

派員到街市及麵包店直接收集剩菜、蔬果及麵包,並且接受供應商捐贈食物。其後,團隊會將仍然可以安全食用的回收食品,直接派發給區內有需要的基層人士。所有領取食物人士需要預先經過資格核實,以確保食物派得其所。


第二部:環保教育

透過舉辦不同活動,例如惜食講座、廚餘升級工作坊及專題研習等,以讓公眾人士了解食物浪費、糧食危機的現況,並且分享惜食概念及日常生活中實踐的方式。此外,團隊亦會和不同地區團體合作,進行攤位活動及展覽教育,以及擺設資訊街站向地區人士宣傳惜食訊息。

 

第三部:社區參與

積極推行社區伙伴回收,例如於節慶前後,在屋苑、商店、商場等合作伙伴設立應節食品回收箱,以鼓勵市民捐出過多的應節食品。另一邊廂,計劃亦鼓勵商界藝工隊參與食物派發活動,親身體驗食物分享的運作及意義。

 

計劃服務對象

區內有需要人士,包括:
  • 領取綜援人士
  • 殘疾人士
  • 領取高額長者生活津貼人士
  • 低收入家庭
  • 轉介個案
  •  

    新生會誠邀您一同參與

    您的參與及支持,是推動新生會的原動力。您可以透過以下兩種方式,與我們一起建造環保可持續社區。

    • 捐贈食物

      任何未開封的包裝食品、飲品;新鮮食品(蔬果、麵包) ;冷藏及急凍食物

    • 成為義工

      協助回收、整理及分發食物;進行教育活動,一同推廣惜食理念

     

    立即行動,支持食物分享計劃!

    聯絡方法
    服務單位 電話 電郵
    環保基金「食得滿FUN」(葵涌及荃灣區)
    2419 2650 ecf_kt@nlpra.org.hk
    環保基金「『竹』福分餉」(黃大仙區) 2320 3103 ecf_wts@nlpra.org.hk


    回頁頂