PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

Becoming a Volunteer - Breaking the Stereotype of Persons with Autism

Becoming a Volunteer - Breaking the Stereotype of Persons with Autism

Click here back to April 2021 E-Newsletter


Becoming a volunteer is a great way to have deeper understanding of the Persons with Autism (PWAs). Olivia had joined the voluntary support service team for the Autistic under New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (New Life) two years ago. Like most of the outsiders, she once thought Persons with Autism tend to self-isolate themselves and are difficult to get along with before joining the team.

 

Learn More to Discover the Various Features of Persons with Autism


In the past few years, Olivia got to interact with a group of teenagers with Autism through a series of volunteering activities, such as day camping, gaming or seminars. Bit by bit, she, who knew little about Autism before, realised that those teenagers were nothing close to the label tagged by the public as speechless and introverted. She shared that, ‘I found that their personalities varied a lot. Some love to chat, and would even actively share their personal interest with me.’

Due to lack of relative knowledge, Olivia did not know how to communicate with the teenagers with Autism at the beginning. Not long after a few voluntary activities, she finally summed up a set of techniques to get along with them. ‘I gradually learned how to effectively help them in emotion adjustment. And I also got to know their personality and quality when being with others. Such as in daily communication, I deliberately avoid using complicated wording to make them easier to understand.’ When a young PWA was confused or acting irrationally in front of difficulty, Olivia believed it is the volunteer’s responsibility to be more patient and offer guidance.

Becoming a volunteer in the team is much more than simply teaching members to paint or helping staff to organize functions within iSPA. The genuine duty on the shoulders of a volunteer is to show a PWA to improve his/her communication skill and to build better interpersonal relationships by providing guidance. In Olivia’s case, her job was to lead this group of young people as volunteers to participate in preparation of a series of activities, from manpower and material arrangement, to finding venue and contacting cooperative organizations, and even the cleaning up after the event.


‘The longer I have gotten along with PWAs, the better our relationship has become. Now, our cooperation in preparing volunteer activities is much more effective since I may allocate their jobs properly according to their advantages.’ --Olivia


Social worker Miko who is responsible for the two ‘iBuddy’ and ‘iSPA services, shared with us that, ‘We hold seminars from time to time in campus to recruit students that are passionate with volunteering and who have certain knowledge of Autism to join us. They would be invited to be part of the mentorship campaign for six months after interview. Through such project, we hope the members may not only put the social skill they have learned into practice, but also receive help and advice from their mentors when facing challenges on the path of growth.’



Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

成為義工打破對自閉症人士的刻板印象

成為義工打破對自閉症人士的刻板印象

按此返回New Life 電子通訊 2021年4月號


要加深對自閉症人士的認識,成為義工是一個好選擇。Olivia於兩年前開始成為新生會旗下自閉症人士支援服務的義工。在成為義工之前,Olivia跟大部份人一樣,以為所有自閉症人士都會偏向封閉自己,很難相處。

 

只要多了解,會發現自閉症人士也有不同的特質


過去數年間,Olivia透過義工活動接觸自閉症青年,與他們一起做各式各樣的義工活動,如日營、遊戲、講座等。本來對自閉症認知不多的她,漸漸在與自閉青年的相處中,發現他們並不如大眾標籤般寡言內向。Olivia分享到:「我發現他們有不同的特質,有的喜愛與人聊天,更會主動與我分享自己的興趣。」

起初因為對自閉症認知不多,Olivia不太懂得該如何與他們相處,但與他們一同參與了幾次義工活動後,她逐漸建立了一套與自閉青年相處的技巧。「我學會了如何能有效協助他們調節自己的情緒,也了解到他們的喜好,與人相處時的特點。如與他們溝通時,避免使用艱深的用語,否則他們就難以明白我們想表達的意思。」自閉症青年有時會因為遇到困難而不懂應對,或做出一些不合作的行為,Olivia指這時候義工們就更需要有耐性,從旁指導他們。

不要以為成為自閉症人士支援服務的義工只是教他們畫畫或是協助職員舉辦中心活動,其實義工肩負著更重要的責任,便是讓自閉症人士透過參與義工活動學習與人溝通的技巧,改善人際關係。Olivia會帶領自閉青年以義工的身份一同籌備活動,教他們如何安排活動人手和物資,以及後續處理的工作,如聯絡不同協作機構、找場地等。


「我與自閉症人士相處久了,關係變得更好。現在能更有效地帶領他們籌備不同義工活動,並按他們的長處分配合適的工作。」-- Olivia


負責朗程牽自閉症人士支援中心義工計劃 - 「iBuddy知心好友計劃」及「朗程牽師友計劃」的社工Miko分享到:「我們定期於不同學校舉行講座,招募對義工服務有熱誠及對自閉症青年有一定認識的人士參與,經面試後可參加為期半年的師友計劃。透過此計劃,希望會員可從中實踐已學到的社交技巧,師友也可從旁協助他們適應成長路上的不同挑戰,給予建議。」

朗程牽自閉症人士支援中心於4月24日將舉辦網上義工簡介會,如果想加深對自閉症人士的認識及成為自閉症人士支援服務的義工,萬勿錯過。


網上義工簡介會詳情如下:

日期:2021年4月24日(星期六)

時間:2:30pm-4:30pm

報名:https://bit.ly/3cxtiCI


回頁頂