PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

Getting out of depression - Rebuilding good parent-child relationship

Getting out of depression - Rebuilding good parent-child relationship

Parents always want their kids to grow up under a healthily and well-established family relationship.

However, when parent suffers from depression, the parent-child relationship would be affected and the quality of family life will be downgraded. Worse still, children may even need to take up the role of caregiver which is entirely out of their capacity. The unharmonious atmosphere in the family may affect children's personal growth as well as, the well-being of people in recovery (PIR) of mental illness. The emergence of the vicious circle has brought greater harm to PIR and increase their parenting pressure.

 

Fung got married in 2007 and had a daughter, Yan. After divorcing, she raised her daughter on her own. The pressure of parenting and earning a living had made her feel depressed and was later diagnosed as depression. At that moment, quarrel and conflict always emerge Fung and Yan on the matter of Yan’s behavior in school. Their relationship was seriously damaged, "I was so depressed at that time. I cannot help scolding her. I can’t sleep and even have negative thoughts and illusion.”

 

Referred by a psychiatrist, Fung and Yan joined Jockey Club Linking H.O.P.E.S. Project. After participating into the multiple family group, Fung discovered the bright side of her daughter that she had been ignoring in the past. She also started to understand Yan’s inner emotion and behavior through the group activities, which effectively improved their parent-child relationship.


Fung become an active volunteer in the project when service ended. She then participated in the Jockey Club Embracing H.O.P.E.S. Project as a peer support worker. She hopes to encourage other families suffering from mental health problem by sharing her own story.

"I have a good communication with my daughter now. I would like to share my experience with other families on how to improve family relationship."

 

Jockey Club Embracing H.O.P.E.S. Project

Sponsored by the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, the 3-year project titled "Jockey Club Embracing H.O.P.E.S. Project” has been launched since January 2020. With family systems and developmental perspectives as the service framework, the Project serves parents/guardians/care-givers, suffering from mental illness or disturbance and with children aged 18 or below, and their families, with the aims of promoting mental well-being and resilience of family members, enhancing family functioning and cultivating mutual support between families through family-centered counseling, multiple family groups, child-focused psychoeducational groups, wellness programs and parent-focused support programs.

Besides, the Project will also launch community ambassador scheme with volunteer training to community members, who will provide support for children whose parents are suffering from mental illness or disturbance, for building up social capital and promoting social inclusion. The Project also aims to build up professional capacity amongst different professions who are working with families encountered with mental health issues, and to raise the awareness and acceptance of general public towards person-in-recovery of mental illness as well as their families, with the ultimate goal of cultivating a harmonious and inclusive society.

 

For more details, please contact:
Phone: 3552 5253
Email: jchopes@nlpra.org.hk

 

Written by: Alan Tam, Project-in-charge of Jockey Club Linking H.O.P.E.S. Project, New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association


Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

走出情緒低谷 重建良好的親子關係

走出情緒低谷 重建良好的親子關係

建立良好的家庭關係,讓孩子茁壯成長,是每位父母的願望。

然而,當父母受到抑鬱症困擾,一方面不僅容易影響親子及家庭關係,同時影響家人相處質素,子女更有機會需要背負起照顧者的角色,而此等角色往往未必是他們力所能及,以致缺乏優質的家庭時光,影響他們的成長。另一方面,惡劣的家庭關係亦會影響復元人士的狀態,加重受抑鬱症困擾父母的親職壓力,形成一個惡性循環。

 

阿峰與前夫於2007年結婚,育有女兒阿欣,惟二人終告離婚,由阿峰獨力撫養女兒。阿峰既要工作維持家庭生計,亦要承受龐大的親職壓力,情緒長期低落,及後她被診斷出患有抑鬱症。當時,阿峰常常因女兒在校內的行為問題,與她產生矛盾及磨擦,嚴重影響了母女關係:「嗰時心情好差,一見到個女就鬧佢,自己亦瞓得唔好,開始出現負面思想同幻覺。」

 

阿峰與女兒後來由精神科醫生轉介「賽馬會家牽希望計劃」,並參加計劃中的多元家庭小組,小組讓她看見女兒的另一面,她才發現自己以往一直忽略了女兒的優點。此外,小組活動也讓她明白女兒的內在情緒和行為,從而改變母女二人之互動及溝通。


阿峰完成服務後,更成為了計劃中的活躍義工,現時則以家庭朋輩支援工作員身份加入新一屆「賽馬會家頌希望計劃」。

她希望以同路人身份勉勵其他受精神健康/病患困擾的家庭:「我而家已經同阿女溝通得好好,我希望用自己嘅經驗,畀其他人知道家庭關係係可以改善嘅。」

 

知多一點:賽馬會家頌希望計劃

新生精神康復會承蒙得到香港賽馬會慈善信托基金捐助,於2020年1月開展為期三年的「賽馬會家頌希望計劃」;計劃以家庭系統及成長發展為服務框架,旨在為受精神健康/病患困擾,並育有18歲或以下兒童及青少年的家長/監護人/照顧者及其家庭提供家庭為本輔導、多元家庭小組、兒童精神健康心理教育小組、身心靈健康活動及家長為本互助活動,提昇家庭成員的精神健康和抗逆能力,促進家庭功能及互助。

此外,計劃亦會培訓社區人士為友伴大使,支援受精神病患困擾的父母之兒童/青少年子女及其家庭,凝聚社會資源和促進互助共融;同時透過專業同工培訓及公眾教育,提昇同工支援面對精神病患困擾之家庭的專業能力,並提昇社區人士對精神病的認識和接納,營造和諧共融的社區。

 

如欲了解關於「賽馬會家頌希望計劃」,歡迎聯絡我們
電話:3552 5253
電郵:jchopes@nlpra.org.hk

 

撰文:新生精神康復會賽馬會家頌希望計劃計劃主任譚子麟


回頁頂