PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

People in recovery giving back to society and finding themselves as volunteers

People in recovery giving back to society and finding themselves as volunteers

There is a saying that ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive’. Unfortunately, not many of us has sufficient ability to help others. For many of us, squeezing time to join volunteer work in busy life is very challenging, not to mention someone who has recovered from mental illness and get out of depression to regain courage to face other people in the same situation. However, going out of darkness with support from outside and stretch your hand to drag those who are still stuck in the pit may bring plenty of satisfaction and happiness. 

 

Suffering for Years and Being Mentally Unstable

Suffering from bipolar disorder for more than 30 years, Cheong Wai’s emotion has been abruptly switching from extreme high to depression uncontrollably. Beginning from the 80’s, Cheong Wai’s memory for being sent to psychiatric hospital has long been vague, ‘There was a time I was sent to Castle Peak Hospital (CPH) because I totally lost control of myself and had to be tied on the bed to restrain actions. My father told me that I intended to beat him when he visited me. However, I lost the memory of such incident.’

After receiving the treatment, Chong Wai’s illness had been improved for quite a while. He met his wife when working in a factory in Shenzhen in 1996 and gave birth to their daughter. However, due to busy working life for ten years, he failed to take medication on schedule which had led to the relapse of his illness. He did not only lose his job, but also became bankrupted because of failure to repay debt. Luckily, Cheong Wai was introduced to New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association and has been arranged to live in Kwai Chung Shek Lei Halfway House for three years now. 

 

Taking Time to Get Accommodated

When Cheong Wai first arrived at the Halfway House, he found it hard to adapt with the new environment. With nothing left of him, he became mentally unstable again and could not see his wife and daughter. Besides, he was anxious about the regulated life with time frame in the Halfway House. The idea of leaving the house had popped up more than once in his mind. Fortunately, under the help of social workers, he gradually understood that engaging in work was not the only kind of beneficiary activities, resting was one of them too. Cheong Wai learned to adjust his mind and try to integrate into the new environment. Now, the Halfway House is like a boarding school to him, and he has made quite a few friends here, ‘I like staying in lively atmosphere and taking part in various activities. I also like to share my thought with roommates.’

Encouraged by the social worker, Cheong Wai has joined the volunteer team ‘We care’. His first job was to join the coastal cleanup activity at Tai O and watch the white dolphins, ‘As a person that would easily get anxious, such activity in which smiling faces could be seen on every face and sunlight shed on every participant has given me great peace in mind.’ A variety of volunteer works, such as accompanying the patient with a stroke to go outside with wheelchair or visitation to the elder people living alone has offered him a new perspective on life. ‘In an earlier visit to  elder people living alone, I realised that a roommate was in low mentality with dull facial expression. It reminded me of my earlier status. Even though I may not be as intelligent as others, I feel thankful that I may still be able to help others in need.’

 

Experiencing Life in Volunteering

Now, Cheong Wai is working in Kowloon Bay, mainly handling paperwork. He has good relationship with families and friends. He also goes out for gathering on weekends and participates in volunteer work sometimes. He is enjoying life with manageable pressure. Recalling his previous experience from low self-esteem to finding value in life, he has stumbled through unforgettable path, ‘I knew little about mental illness before even if I suffered from it. I was afraid from people with similar illness. However, people in recovery of mental illness are not necessarily aggressive, they could be fragile too.’ He said that volunteering is beneficial to him, thus he encouraged people who have recovered from mental illness to join volunteering to thoroughly walk out of darkness and seek new meaning of life. 

 


Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

復元人士回饋社會 擔任義工尋回自我

復元人士回饋社會 擔任義工尋回自我

常言道「施比受,更有福」,有能力幫助別人的確並非必然。對一般人而言,要在忙碌的生活抽時間擔任義工並不容易;然而,對於精神病康復者而言,要走出低谷,重新獲得扶助他人的勇氣與能力,更是艱難。從前一路走來得到外界的支援,到復元過後,回過頭來為別人崎嶇的路途添上一分暖意,當中的滿足與意義,就是幸福所在。

 

患病多年 起伏不斷

患有躁狂抑鬱症的昌維,與疾病搏鬥三十多年,一直在情緒高漲與鬱悶之間浮沉。早於80年代起發病,他多年來進出不同醫院,記憶早已變得迷糊:「有一次,我入住青山醫院,人完全無法運作,更曾被綁在病床上動彈不得。我爸爸說當時他來探望我,我卻想打他,我對這些已經沒有印象。」

昌維病情一度好轉,至1996年他在深圳工廠工作時認識太太,二人成婚後與女兒過著愉快生活。十年過去,昌維因工作過忙,未有按時用藥,以致再度病發入院需要回港就醫。病令他失去了工作,更欠下債務無力償還,最終宣告破產。生命的曲折,輾轉之下帶領昌維來到新生精神康復會,在醫護人員及社工轉介下入住葵涌石籬宿舍,至今已有三年。

 

入住宿舍 適應需時

昌維入住宿舍初期,難以適應新環境。當時,他自覺一無所有,加上無法與妻女見面,情緒變得不穩。此外,他對於作息有時的宿舍生活,慨既覺得百無聊賴又感到焦慮,更一度考慮離開宿舍。幸獲社工開解,讓他漸漸明白,休息也是一種活動,不一定要繁多工作才是充實,調整心態過後,慢慢接納新環境。現在的他視宿舍有如寄宿學校,更認識了不少朋友:「我喜歡熱鬧,喜歡參與不同活動,也會和舍友說說內心事。」

在社工呼籲下,昌維加入了共善行義工隊,憶述第一次的義工活動是到大澳參與清潔垃圾海岸清潔活動及觀看白海豚:「我本來是個容易焦慮的人,但活動時眼見人人也面帶微笑,氣氛輕鬆,加上陽光很好,讓我感覺很是舒服平安。」各式各樣的義工活動讓昌維感受甚深,例如為中風癱瘓的病人推輪椅,探訪獨居長者等,也令他對生命有不同想法:「早前探訪獨居長者時,我看見有舍友精神狀態較差,神情呆滯,也不太會說話,讓我想到過去自己也曾像他一樣。雖然,我也不及正常人般精靈,但已經很感恩,自己仍然有少少條件去幫助別人。」

 

義工服務 體味人生

現在,昌維在九龍灣上班,主要處理文書資料工作,與家人關係甚好,週末會和朋友外出晚餐相聚,偶爾抽空擔任義工,過著沒有壓力的生活。回想當初,由自我形象低落,到找到生命的價值,走過了一段難忘的經歷:「雖然我有精神病,但早年我對精神病了解不多,故與其他精神病人也有隔膜,甚至會害怕他們。然而,精神病患者不一定會攻擊別人,其實病患者也會有表現脆弱的時候。」昌維續說,擔任義工令自己有所得著,現在他會鼓勵其他康復者多加參與義工活動,認為任何人都必須要走出框框以外,才可對生命有新的探索。

 


回頁頂