PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

I Could Work Independently

I Could Work Independently

I am Kit, a trainee at Kwai Shing Sheltered Workshop under New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (New Life). I have been receiving vocational rehabilitation service for eight years and currently I am receiving training at the "Bean Production Group”. As a moderated mentally handicapped person, I was diagnosed with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) in 2003. Such disease forced me to get into excessively patterned life and overly pursue perfection in anything which drag my productiveness far behind from normal people. I could not help but keep washing hands frequently, murmuring a lot and peeling my hands. Until now, I still must meet my clinical psychologist and attend psychiatric medical appointment at hospital periodically.  

When my behaviors were seen, I was considered freak in the eyes of others. No matter how hard I tried to control myself, I could not prevent from carrying out all the above behaviors. Due to my "weirdness”, my mother kept me in protection for all these years, and I became overly reliant on my mother. I was the princess at home, no need to do housework and always be accompanied by parents. 

When I first received training at the Sheltered Workshop, I was assigned to the "Handcrafting Group”. However, limited by the hand muscle flexibility and weak in concentration, I found it hard to handle those complex procedure. Noticing my difficulty, social workers, occupational therapists and instructors encouraged me to shift to "Bean Production Group” to continue my training, using the knowledge I learned in Food Manufacturing Course of VTC. At the beginning, I could not even finish simple cleaning work, not to mention other difficult tasks. My obsession had brought out all my weird behaviors. I failed to get along with other students, and even involved in argument with them sometimes. I felt depressed since I caused too much trouble and I lost almost all my confidence. 

Fortunately, instructors from the Sheltered Workshop gave me guidance and taught me social techniques. My work allocation was also adjusted according to my progress. After receiving training, I gradually learned the correct way to wash hands, the importance of vocational safety and more detailed work procedure. Under continuous encouragement, I began to pick and weigh bean independently, and also clean the whole soybean machine by myself. Even my mother was surprised by the huge progress I made. 

The vocational training at the Sheltered Workshop had not only trained me to be independent, but also taught me a lot of interpersonal skills. The social workers and instructors guided me with necessary social manners. The clinical psychologist paid me visit periodically and provide psychological consultation. Besides, the staff from the Sheltered Workshop introduced my mother to Family Support Service where she would learn skill to get along with me. Now, she is assured to let me face most of the new challenges in the training. And she also understood that with medication and psychological support, my OCD could be largely ameliorated. 

 

Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

我也可以獨立工作

我也可以獨立工作

我是伊潔,是新生精神康復會葵盛庇護工場的學員,我在工場已接受職業康復服務約8年,現於「豆品製作組」接受工作訓練。我本身是輕度智障人士,2003年時,醫生診斷我患有「強迫性人格疾患」(俗稱強迫症)。由於強迫症導致我的性格比較執著,如過分投入於有秩序的生活,要求事事完美,家人和朋友都認為我是完美主義者。在與人相處時,我往往都不夠圓滑而且固執,做事效率也較慢。受強迫症影響,我經常會不斷洗手、說話又多及經常撕手皮,並需要定期見心理治療醫生和到醫院精神科覆診。

當身邊的人見到我這些行為時,都會覺得我十分古怪,即使我盡力控制自己,但總會不由自主地做起這些事情來。由於我有這些異常行為,媽媽一直很保護我,我亦變得事事依賴媽媽。我變成家中的小公主,不用做家務,而平日也沒有機會獨自外出。

在庇護工場接受訓練之初,我首先被安排在「手工藝組」接受培訓,但由於我的手肌活動能力及專注力弱,很多複雜的工序均難以掌握。工場的社工、職業治療師及導師有見及此,考慮到我曾經就讀職業訓練局的食品製作課程,他們便鼓勵我調配到「豆品製作組」繼續接受訓練。然而,剛到「豆品製作組」時,我連簡單清潔都不懂做,更何況是其他複雜的工序,由於固執的性格加上因強迫症影響而出現的古怪的行為,我與其他學員的相處並不融洽,更會不時爭吵。當時我感到十分氣餒,覺得自己總帶給別人麻煩,自信心跌入谷底。

幸好,庇護工場導師悉心開導我,並教導我與人相處的技巧,又會因應我的進度引導我由簡單的工序做起。經過訓練後,我慢慢學懂正確的洗手步驟、職業安全的重要性及其他更細緻的工序。在導師不斷鼓勵下,我開始獨自處理揀豆、磅豆的工作,以及自行清潔整部豆漿機,就連媽媽也驚歎我的進步。

在庇護工場的工作訓練,除了使我學會獨立,我亦學到與人相處的技巧。庇護工場的社工和導師會定期和我會面,教導我一些待人處事的禮儀,而臨床心理學家會定期到工場探訪我進行心理輔導。與此同時,職員亦為媽媽轉介了家屬支援服務,讓媽媽學習與我相處的技巧。現時,媽媽已經放心讓我獨立處理大部份在工場接受訓練時遇到的挑戰,她明白到強迫症是可以利用藥物控制病情,加上適當的心理輔導,我的強迫症亦有明顯的改善。

 

回頁頂