PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

The Black-faced Daddy

The Black-faced Daddy

It was a night several years ago after I finished work and arrived home when my elder daughter asked, "Are you unhappy, daddy?”, and my little girl worried about my "black face”. I was so curious and replied, "Daddy is so happy to see you two, why would I be unhappy?” 

However, at the same time I could not help but asking myself why the blacked-faced character was not played by the mother who was responsible to take care of two girls and be strict to them in many occasions? I, in my own impression, was playing the role of a Santa Clause who accomplished most of their wishes. Therefore, I should not be related to "black face”.

The word of two little girls kept hoovering over in my head. Putting aside my bag, I was looking at the mirror covered mostly by steam generated by the hot water I used to wash my face. I realized my dull face which reminded me of Batman with his mask on. No wonder it scared my two beloved daughters. I still remembered my first job after graduation in the Boy’s Home where I had to face problematic boys with different issues and put on serious and strict expression with little smile. As time passes, the Batman mask was hung there. 

The care and regard from my two little girls made me reconsider how much my work was influencing my life. As facial expression is the direct reflection of emotion and pressure suffering, did I unconsciously bring home stress from work that worries my families? ” From then on, I kept reminding myself to properly handle pressure, fatigue and unhappiness every day before finishing work, and go home with ease and joy to receive care from those two little angels await at the door and answer questions, such as "What makes you so happy , Daddy? Did you hit the lottery?”, or "Tell me Daddy, what behind that smile?

Family life with smile and laughter would never be too bad.


Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

黑面爸爸

黑面爸爸

回想數年前的某一天放工回家,「爸爸,你唔開心呀?」、「爸爸,做咩又黑面呀?」細囡左一句「問候」,大囡右一句「關心」,感覺怪怪的我即時回應﹕「我見到你兩個好開心喎,邊有唔開心?邊有黑面呀?」。

當時,心中不禁疑惑,「黑面」角色不是應該媽媽擔當嗎? 在家中,照顧兩個寶貝女兒的重任在太太的肩膀上,對孩子要求亦會較嚴厲;相反,我在家中多扮演「黃大仙」一角有求必應,對她們的要求亦較為寬鬆,為何她們口中的黑面神是我?不是媽媽嗎?

言猶在耳,疑惑久久不散;當日,放下重重的背包,梳洗後凝望被水蒸氣輕蓋的鏡子,發覺自己木無表情的樣子猶如黑色的面譜,難怪女兒都認為我黑面,內心不禁疑惑「黑色面譜」是何時掛在自己的面上。回想多年前剛剛畢業,第一份工作便是在男童院工作,每日面對問題天天都多的院童,難免要擺出一副嚴肅、眉頭緊鎖、眼神凌厲之表情,笑容當然更欠奉;久而久之,「黑色面譜」便深深烙印在面。

大細寶貝的一句問候及關心,令我不得不反思工作對自己及家人的影響,而表情及面容表達往往受情緒及壓力所影響,是否自己不自覺將工作上的壓力無意識地帶回家令家人擔心?自此,放工前必定將當日壓力、疲累、不快、不如意、好好處理,嘗試帶着輕鬆心情及愉快的面容回家,以笑容等待開門的小不點,期待她們左一句「爸爸,有咩開心嘢呀? 中六合彩呀?」,右一句「爸爸,你笑騎騎,放毒蛇呀?」。

若家多一點笑容,生活樂無憂。


回頁頂