PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

No More “Automation” When Facing Pressure

No More “Automation” When Facing Pressure

Parents are usually exhausted with all sorts of life difficulties in which their priority concern is children or other family members, but neglecting their own physical and emotional status. It comes naturally that solving problems in life would drain up their energy.

When too many things are adding into the to-do list in life, parents may become more sentimental and make instant reaction without understanding the real need of their children, which is acting under "automation”. When under pressure or in emotional instability, some parents may yell or beat their children impulsively. In that case, not only parental relationship is harmed, but the majority of parent would be regret and self-reproach afterwards.

 

The "automation” under pressure has close connection with the survival modes that were born with us, that is to "Fight”, to "Flight” or to "Freeze” in danger. Those modes would be activated to keep us from any harm and damage, especially when our lives or people around us are under threat.

For instance, when our children intend to cross the road, our hand would automatically drag him/her back to prevent accident. However, such automatic survival mode may cause negativity in education, such as when we yell at our children to stop them from playing and get back to homework, the parent-child relationship and the well-being of the child would be affected.

 

Practising "Mindfulness” helps us learn to focus on "the instant moment” consciously and non-judgmentally. Through daily mindfulness practice, parents switch from "doing mode” to "being mode”. Before finding solution to any difficulties, we should observe the situation and children’s real need first, then choose the most appropriate reaction to establish a kind and harmony parental relationship.




Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

面對壓力,不再「自動導航」

面對壓力,不再「自動導航」

家長每日疲於應付日常生活上遇到的各種難題,往往優先考慮到子女或其他家庭成員的需要,而忽略了自身的狀態。家長不斷要顧著解難,確實難以細心覺察生活中的一點一滴。

當照顧小朋友變成無數要處理的事情之一,家長情緒或會變得容易波動,未有充分了解狀況及子女真正的需要,便作出了快速而不自覺的反應,亦即「自動化」反應。當受壓或情緒變得激動時,有些家長甚或會一時衝動打罵子女,影響親子關係之餘,亦令家長感到十分懊惱和自責。

 

面對壓力時會容易作出「自動化」反應,其實跟我們與生俱來的生存模式有關。生存模式下的反應大致可分為三種,包括戰鬥(fight)、逃跑(flight)和僵住不動(freeze)。這些反應讓我們能夠在自己或身邊的人受到生命威脅時作出即時應對。

例如,當小朋友不經意走出馬路,我們會自動伸手把他拉住或大聲喝止他,意圖保護小朋友免被行駛中的車輛撞倒。然而,當我們於日常生活中,仍然採用自動化的生存模式作出反應,如在家溫習或做家課時大聲喝止小朋友玩樂,往往容易帶來反效果,影響家庭關係及小朋友的身心發展。

 

培養「靜觀」的態度能夠幫助我們學習有意識、不加批判地專注於當下一刻。透過每天不同的靜觀練習,家長可以從「行動模式」(doing mode)轉到「同在模式」(being mode)。於解難前,先覺察當下狀況及需要,繼而選擇一個合適的回應,從而有效改善與小朋友的相處和家庭關係。




回頁頂