PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

Live With No Guts?

Live With No Guts?

To many of us, doggies are the friendliest pet. However, quite some people fear them. It comes naturally that we may all have our own fears. It could be snakes, spiders or cockroaches. However, when the fear to a specific object or scene excessively overwhelms the danger it might cause and affect our daily lives, we have to find solution to overcome it.


Such as in Sam’s case, as a postman he was chased by a dog half a year ago at work and feared dog ever since then. In the theory of Cognitive-Behavioral-Therapy, the thought that "since dogs would surely bite me, I have to stay away from any of them” was rooted in his mind after the incident. As a result, when he sees dog, he would feel rapid heartbeat, trembling and breathing difficulty and behaviorally running away. Such fear has seriously influenced his job efficiency.


"Exposure” Exercise Helps

Now Sam is using "exposure” exercise to help himself out of the strait.

  1. Firstly, he records down the situation when he encounters with dogs, and realizes the obsessive thought of "since dogs would surely bite me, I have to stay away from any of them” and its level of painfulness.

  2. Secondly, he categorizes things related to dogs with their level of painfulness and anxiety.

  3. Finally, he tries to gradually carry out "exposure” daily, that is to watch doggy cartoon to begin with, and then to touch doggy dolls, to stay within ten meters with a dog, and finally lay hand on a real dog.

After repetitive practice, Sam realizes that the thought of "dog would bite if I do not run away” is out of his imagination only. His level of fear to dogs lowers day by day. When he sees dog at work, he would not escape again and this greatly improves his efficiency in work.


To know more about how to face specific fear, please watch the following video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f6CKcBDPp2Y

 

If you are suffering from the similar problem as Sam, please contact the Jockey Club eGPS Psychological Support Project (eGPS) for more information and support.

Jockey Club eGPS Psychological Support Project
Tel:3188 2550
Email: egps@nlpra.org.hk
Website: https://www.egps.hk/



Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

「生人唔生膽」?

「生人唔生膽」?

很多人說狗狗是人類最好的朋友,然而,事實上有人是怕狗的。而不同人懼怕的事物都不一樣,可以是蛇、蜘蛛、蟑螂等。其實有恐懼的感覺是人之常情,但當我們對某種特定事物或環境所產生的恐懼反應,與實際的危險性不成正比的時候,甚至對生活造成影響,我們就要想想怎麼辦了。


好像郵差Sam(化名),半年前派信時遭到狗追咬,自此他就很害怕狗。從認知行為治療的理論去分析,思想上他覺得「狗一定會咬我,所以一定要躲得遠遠」。而每當再遇到狗的時候,他會有心跳加速、呼吸困難和「打哆喙」等等的身體反應;行為上,他需要完全避開狗,才可以派信,嚴重地影響他的工作效率。


「正視練習」幫到你

好像Sam的情況,他可以使用「正視練習」(exposure)來幫助自己。

  1. 首先,記錄自己遇到狗的情況,識別出自己遇到狗時會有「不躲開就一定會被狗咬,所以一定要躲得遠遠」的強迫思想及行為,以及相應的痛苦水平。

  2. 然後,把與狗有關的事物根據痛苦或焦慮程度分類。

  3. 最後,嘗試每天循序漸進地進行「正視練習」,即先由看卡通狗的相片開始、再觸摸狗的洋娃娃、慢慢再站在距離狗十米外,甚至能摸一摸真實的狗。

經過不斷重覆的練習,Sam發現自己「不躲開就一定會被狗咬」的思想並非事實。慢慢他對狗的恐懼降低,派信時遇到狗也少了躲開,重拾昔日的工作效率,工作表現有所改善。


關於如何面對特定恐懼症症狀,大家可觀看以下影片了解詳情:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f6CKcBDPp2Y

 

如果你也有和Sam類似的困擾,可以聯絡賽馬會情緒GPS心理支援計劃,獲得更多資訊及幫助。

賽馬會情緒GPS心理支援計劃
電話:3188 2550
電郵:egps@nlpra.org.hk
網址:https://www.egps.hk/



回頁頂