PUBLICATION

330 News

< Back

My Journey of Recovery

My Journey of Recovery

My name is Ting. Looking back to my past, my recovery journey was not easy at all. I was not good at studying and it might relate to my learning disorder. I also got bullied at school. I was a bad handler in relationships. I had my first boyfriend at 18 and broke up for too many times. Hurting myself physically was one of many usual ways to release my negative emotion.

 

After graduation from secondary school, I could not find a good job because of my poor academic result. Life had further struck me by taking away my most beloved grandmother at that time. With the help from my family, I got an office job in a logistic company. Unfortunately, I started feeling exhausted all the times after working for around 6 months. I seek for the medical advice and was diagnosed depression at last.

 

I am a forgetful person and I always forgot to take medication on time or even forgot to attend the scheduled doctor consultation which made my status be unstable. Besides, my mental state was terrible due to the insomnia. I didn’t want to freshen up and meet people and just wanted to stay home with my phone. Even so, my families still offers full support to me. They kept reminding me to take medication on time and attend the doctor consultation. My mother took care of my dining with great attention every day. And my elder sister would take leave and go to doctor consultation with me. Whenever I felt unmotivated to go to work, they would go with me together. Such infinitive and selfless support and encouragement pulled me through the darkest time of my life. I deeply appreciate the importance of family support.

 

Advised by my psychiatrist, I was referred to live at Halfway House. Through in-house activities, I learnt to take care myself and it enable me to have a deeper understanding of myself. I realized my incapability of self-management. Under the help of a social worker, I successfully applied a job in the sheltered workshop. I rediscovered the motivation of learning from daily work training. Through making soft clay and leather artwork, and joining the interest classes such as Mandarin, dessert-making, etc., I was finally aware that mental illness was simply a small part of life. I will continue to enrich myself and strive for my own life goal.

 

My recovery journey was never smooth. I touched the low ebb and had the thought of giving myself up once. Thanks to the love of my families and the supportive service from the Halfway House, I was able to re-energize myself and embrace hope to the future. I firmly believe that people in recovery should share the same right to pursue their goal and happiness in life.

 

Back to Top

機構刊物

330 快訊

< 返回

我在復元中成長

我在復元中成長

我的名字是阿婷,回想過去,我的康復之路真的不容易。自小,我不擅長讀書,或許與學習障礙有關,成績總是慘不忍睹,也時常被同學欺負。我亦不擅長處理感情,18歲起我開始結交男友,經歷多次分手,自殘𠝹手是我慣常處理失戀的方法。

 

中五畢業後,因成績不理想而未有找到工作,當時最疼愛我的嫲嫲驟然離逝,對我造成很大打擊。後來,家人幫我找到一份物流公司的文職工作,我逐鼓起勇氣上班工作,豈料不到半年便感到身心俱疲,需要尋求醫生治療,結果醫生診斷我患上抑鬱症。

 

確診以後,由於我記性差,常常忘了服藥,更試過忘記覆診,令病情反覆。此外,我又常常夜不能寐、睡眠不足令我精神很差,更開始不願梳洗及與人見面,只想躲在家中玩手機。儘管如此,我的家人仍然非常支持我。他們不斷苦心勸我覆診和依時服藥,媽媽每日悉心照顧我的起居飲食,姐姐則會請假陪我覆診。每當我提不起勁上班時,她們便會陪我一起乘車上班,給我無限支持與鼓勵,陪伴我渡過了最難熬的時刻,這讓我深深體會到家人的支持至關重要。

 

在精神科醫生建議下,我轉到中途宿舍接受訓練。透過宿舍活動,我開始學習自理,亦重新認識自己,發現自己的自我管理能力較弱。工作方面,在社工協助下我申請到庇護工場工作,從工作訓練中找回學習的動力。透過製作軟陶、皮革工藝,以及參加自己感興趣的課程如普通話、甜品班等,我明白到精神病只是生命的一部分,我會繼續自我增值,努力尋找自己的生活目標。

 

我的復元旅程並非一帆風順,偶爾會跌入谷底,甚至有放棄自己的念頭。有賴家人的體諒和愛心,以及中途宿舍的服務,令我重拾生活動力,對未來懷抱希望。我相信復元人士跟一般人一樣,擁有自己的人生目標,享受愉快的生活。

 

回頁頂