THEME

Go-green Campaign

In view of the severity of the global environment issues and the rapid depletion of natural resources, New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association integrates the concept of environmental protection into the organizational culture and is committed to implement green measures in daily management and operation. Elements of sustainability are infused into the daily life and work habits of the service users and our staff to heighten their environmental awareness. Apart from service users and staff, we also actively disseminate the green message to the volunteers, our partners and the community.

We are committed to roll out green policy covering six major aspects, namely reduce, recycle, reuse, green purchase, green management and facilities, and green promotion and education.

 

Go-green Working Group

The Quality Assurance and Continuous Quality Improvement Subcommittee organized a seminar on the development of green work in July 2013, after which the go-green working group was established to formulate the direction, framework and objectives of green initiatives, provide information for service units to promote environmental protection work, monitor the effectiveness for the continuity of green efforts.

 

"Greenery”, "Cheery” and "Promissory”

Three mascots namely "Greenery (綠仔)”, "Cheery (樂仔)” and "Promissory (諾仔)” symbolize our determination to take responsibilities for environmental protection, implement environmental friendly initiatives and work together towards an environmentally sustainable future. The mascot design is adapted in various green tips that are displayed in prominent places to encourage the staff and service users to cultivate green habits such as energy saving, water conservation and reducing waste at source.

 

"Community Involvement Project for Municipal Solid Waste Charging – Waste Reduction Get, Set, Go!”

With the support from Environment and Conservation Fund, one-year project namely "Community Involvement Project for Municipal Solid Waste Charging – Waste Reduction Get, Set, Go!” was implemented at New Life Building in March 2017. Staff and service users learnt more about the objectives and implementation arrangement of municipal solid waste charging as well as the importance of "waste reduction at source”. By setting up collection points for recyclables within New Life Building and displaying publicity of clean recycling near the collection points to enhance the quality of recyclables. According to the statistics, total amount of disposed waste reduced in 21% while total amount of collected recyclables increased in 48% compared with the period before the commencement of the project.

4 issues of "Green Newsletter” providing the information of municipal solid waste charging scheme and "waste reduction at source” were published


Staff and service users visited the Community Green Station – Sham Shui Po to learn more about the support provided by the Government for community recycling

 

"Love Green Day 2018 cum Sharing and Award Presentation of "Community Involvement Project for Municipal Solid Waste Charging – Waste Reduction Get, Set, Go!”

The event was held on 6 March 2018 at Jockey Club New Life Institute of Psychiatric Rehabilitation. Around 200 staff and service users attended. With the theme of "waste reduction at source”, the arrangement of municipal solid waste charging and the works and effectiveness of the project on waste reduction were shared on the event. Service units with outstanding performance on waste reduction and clean recycling during the project period were recognized in the award presentation. Upcycling workshops to echo the theme of "waste reduction at source” and to enhance the awareness of participants on waste conversion and resource conservation were conducted by service units.

 

  • Love Green Day 2018
  • Reused pots with the compost generated from food waste were used for small plants

 

"Country Parks Hiking and Planting Day 2018”

Go-green Working Group gathered 25 staff and service users to participate in Country Parks Hiking and Planting Day 2018 which was organized by Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department. Participants not only planted the seedlings of native tree species that helped increase the forest coverage but they also enjoyed the beautiful scenery of the country parks which helped wellness of body, mind and soul. Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department also provided game booths to introduce the characteristics of different native tree species.

 

  • Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department distributed seedlings to Planting Day participants
  • Staff prepared the "new home” for the seedlings

 

"Shoreline Cleanup Day 2018”

38 students of Department of Sociology, Hong Kong Shue Yan University and staff joined hands to clean the seashore at Lung Kwu Tan, Tuen Mun on 6 October 2018 in order to reduce the pollution by solid wastes and protect the marine ecosystem.

 

  • Students and staff joined hands to clear the refuse
  • Total about dozens of bags of garbage were cleared up. Participants contributed their efforts to clean the seashore

 

"Recycling Flea Market”

Go-green Working Group organized Recycling Flea Market on 7 December 2018 at New Life Building. More than 100 staff visited the Market. The objective of the activity was to promote the reuse of gently used or even brand new stuff among the staff so as to reduce waste at source and adopt green living style by shop wisely.

 

  • Staff visited the Recycling Flea Market
  • Participants left messages showing support to the activity and environmental sustainability

 

Green Involvement

New Life has been proactively pursing environmental protection activities within the organization as well as participating in various programmes run by other organizations including:

  • Energy Saving Scheme
    Service units are encouraged to set goals of reduction in consumption of electricity, review the electricity saving measures amongst service users and staff and examine the effectiveness of energy conservation.
  • Green Footprint
    Service units submit the "Green Footprint Record” to share their experiences in active implementation of green work and environmental education activities.

    • Upcycling – Trainees "upcycle” the waste plastic bottle caps and "transform” them into keychains in a creative way.

    • Through "Green Flea Market” the barter platform, users of residential services can share and exchange goods to achieve a balanced resource allocation and waste reduction at source.

    • Staff of vocational rehabilitation services made potted plant to create a greener workplace in the activity "Green330”.
  • Food Waste Recycling Project
    New Life Farm received grants from ECF to install a composting machine which converts the collected food waste to organic compost for the use of the Farm. Apart from the collection and recycling of food waste, visits and seminars are organized for the public to promote food waste minimization, waste reduction at source and organic farming.

    • Environment and Conservation Fund supported the installation of composting machine.

    • Visit programmes are organized for the community
  • Food Sharing Project
    Aiming to encourage the public to reduce food waste and promote food donations, the Association has undertaken a food sharing project in Wong Tai Sin and Tuen Mun since 2012. With the support from ECF, the project extended to Kwai Chung and Tsuen Wan from June 2015 onwards, incorporating elements like community participation and promotion of environmental friendly messages in schools, etc.

    • Around 200-240 people were given food per day in the Food Sharing Project.

    • The Project incorporates community involvement.
  • CLP GREEN PLUS Energy Billboard Service Program and Energy Audit
    Several service units joined the energy audit programme organized by CLP Power Hong Kong Limited. With reference to the audit reports and recommendations provided by CLP, service units can improve their energy efficiency. The GREEN PLUS Energy Billboard Service Program provided information about the overall electricity consumption on a quarterly basis.

 

Green Support

Apart from the active implementation of green initiatives within the Association, we also support the green actions launched by government departments and other organizations that are conducive to environmental protection and sustainability, which include:

The Association signed up to the "Charter on External Lighting” launched by Environment Bureau. The external lighting is switched off from 11 p.m. to 7 a.m. on the following day to reduce light nuisance and energy wastage.

 

Apart from "Charter on External Lighting”, the Association also signed "Energy Saving Charter” which is launched by Environment Bureau. The Association committed that service units maintain an average indoor temperature between 24-26°C during the summer months and switch off electrical appliances and systems when not in use.

 

New Life Building first submitted an application to Hong Kong Green Organisation Certification (HKGOC) via the Environmental Campaign Committee (ECC) alongside the Environmental Protection Department and in conjunction with nine organisations. After review on our energy saving and waste reduction practices, Wastewi$e Certificate – Basic Level and Energywi$e Certificate – Basic Level are issued and we are successfully certified as Hong Kong Green Organisation (HKGO) in recognition of our contribution on environmental protection.

 

The Association is awarded with "Friends of EcoPark 2019” Certificate of Appreciation in recognition of our support given to recycling business in EcoPark and efforts in promoting recycling and reducing waste.

 

Kwai Shing Sheltered Workshop and The Wellness Centre (Islands) won the Hanson Outstanding Award and Hanson Merit Award, by virtue of their support for energy saving. The Association also received the Hanson Supportive Group Award in the Energy Saving Championship Scheme 2017, which was organized by the Environment Bureau and Electrical and Mechanical Services Department.

 

The Association also supported the campaign organized by the Hong Kong Shark Foundation and became a signatory of the "Say No To Shark Fin” pledge. We agreed to exclude shark fin from the menus of official events, entertainment functions and public activities to fulfill social responsibilities.

According to the information provided by Environmental Protection Department, most of Hong Kong’s food waste is disposed at landfills together with other municipal solid waste at present. The practice of disposing of biodegradable food waste at landfills is not sustainable and is environmentally undesirable as it depletes the limited landfill space, creates odour nuisance and the useful organic contents are wasted. In order to address the problem of food waste, the Association joined the campaign "Love Food, Hate Waste” organizing by Bo Charity Foundation – Food Angel, which promotes the message of cherishing food.


  • Campaign stickers are put on the garbage bins of service units and offices to remind staff and service users to cherish food and reduce food waste.

 

Green Education

The "Green Book” containing environmental education materials including relevant information, quizzes and green living tips was issued to serve as a resource kit for staff and service users in order to enhance their knowledge of environmental protection.


  • Let’s Go Green Booklet

Back to Top

主題

「邁向綠色」機構

近年全球面臨嚴重的環境問題,自然資源快速耗竭。為此,新生精神康復會將環保理念納入機構文化,致力在日常管理及運作中實踐有助保護環境的措施,藉此加強服務使用者及職員的環保意識,並於日常生活及工作習慣加入締造可持續發展的環境的元素。除服務使用者及職員外,本會亦積極將有關訊息傳達至義工、合作夥伴和社區。

本會就邁向綠色機構於會內推行並逐步實踐六項綠化政策,涵蓋六個範疇,包括節能減廢、循環再造、舊物重用、綠色採購、綠色管理和設施與環保教育推廣。

 

環保工作小組

本會的持續優質管理小組委員會於2013年7月就會方的綠化工作發展舉辦了研討會。本會隨之成立了環保工作小組,負責制定機構環保工作方向、框架及目標,為服務單位提供資訊以推行環保工作,並監測其成效以持續推行綠色計劃。

 

綠樂諾

綠樂諾精靈象徵著本會職員樂意肩負保護環境的責任,承諾致力執行各項對環境友善的措施,同心協力締造可持續發展的環境。本會以綠樂諾設計了不同的提示並鼓勵單位將提示貼於單位當眼處,提醒職員及服務使用者培養環保的習慣,如:節約用電、珍惜食水及源頭減廢等。

 

綠色參與

本會積極籌辦及參與外間機構舉辦的環保活動,其中包括:

 

「都市減廢Get!Set!Go!」

本會獲得環保基金及自然保育基金資助於新生會大樓推行「都市減廢Get!Set!Go!」項目。職員及服務使用者透過不同活動認識都市固體廢物徵費措施,並了解「源頭減廢」的重要性。透過於大樓內增設回收點及展示有關乾淨回收的宣傳品,有助推動職員及服務使用者進行乾淨回收。根據統計資料,項目整體成效顯著,整體廢物量比項目推行前下降了近21%,而回收量則大幅上升了近48%。

於項目期內共出版了4期「環保通訊」,提供有關都市固體廢物徵費措施及「源頭減廢」的資訊

新生會大樓的職員及服務使用者參觀「綠在深水埗」,了解政府如何為社區的回收工作提供支援

 

「2018愛‧綠色日暨環保基金資助項目 - 都市減廢Get,Set,Go! 分享會及頒獎典禮」

有關活動於2018年3月6日在賽馬會新生精神康復學院舉行,共約有200位職員及服務使用者參加。活動以「推動源頭減廢」為主題,大會向參加者講解都市固體廢物徵費措施和分享減廢項目的工作內容及成效;及後,大會頒發獎項表揚分別在減低廢物量及推行乾淨回收工作中表現卓越的服務單位。服務單位亦配合「源頭減廢」主題,精心預備多個「升級再造」工作坊,教導參加者如何「轉廢為寶」,善用資源。

 

  • 2018年「愛。綠色日」
  • 先將廢棄花盆裝飾,然後利用由廚餘轉化成的營養土培苗

 

「郊野公園遠足植樹日2018」

2018年4月22日環保工作小組召集了約二十多位職員及服務使用者一同參加由漁農自然護理署於西貢郊野公園舉辦的「郊野公園遠足植樹日2018」活動。參加者於活動當日除了可享受郊野公園的自然風光及為大自然種植樹苗外,漁護署亦安排攤位遊戲讓參加者認識不同品種的樹苗及其特徵。

 

  • 漁農自然護理署人員派發小樹苗予參加者
  • 同事們為小樹苗整理「居所」

 

海岸清潔活動

海岸受固體廢物污染時有所聞,為保護海岸環境及減低固體廢物對海洋生態的污染,環保工作小組於2018年10月6日聯同樹仁大學社會學系學生一同前往屯門龍鼓灘清理於岸邊的垃圾,職員及同學們一行近三十人合共執拾了約二十多袋垃圾。

 

  • 職員與學生一同努力「執垃圾」
  • 參加者共執拾了約數十袋垃圾,為保護海洋環境而努力

 

「執到寶大笪地」活動

環保工作小組於2018年12月7日在新生會大樓舉行「執到寶大笪地」活動,多達100位職員到訪大笪地場地。活動以「大笪地」形式作回收平台,鼓勵職員將仍然完好的物件循環再用,藉此延長閒置物品的生命週期,同時亦可避免同事重覆購買類似物品,減少浪費,達致源頭減廢。

 

  • 同事們正在參與大笪地活動
  • 參加者留言支持大笪地活動

 

節約用電及用紙計劃

鼓勵服務單位訂下節約用電及節約用紙的目標,並與服務使用者和職員探討各項省電、省紙的措施及持續檢視有關措施的成效。

 

綠色足跡

鼓勵各單位積極進行各項環保工作及綠色教育活動,並透過「綠色足跡記錄」,與其他單位分享綠化工作的心得。

  • 社會企業cafe330(明愛醫院)於店內銷售不鏽鋼飲管,鼓勵顧客改用可重用的不鏽鋼飲管,減少使用塑膠,支持減塑生活。
  • 職業康復服務的職員透過「Green 330」活動一同製作製作小盆栽,綠化工作間。
  • 升級再做-日間訓練學員發揮創意為廢棄物膠樽蓋「升呢」,重新包裝成精美的鎖匙扣

 

  • 除精美的鎖匙扣外,日間訓練的學員亦收集會員的舊衣物,發揮創意將舊衣物「升級」為精美環保索袋,鼓勵循環再用。

 

  • 社區支援服務舉辦生態旅遊,參觀沙頭角農莊內的水耕農作埸及紅樹林生態群,讓服務使用者認識本港最重要的紅樹林生態系統及有機耕作對自然環境的益處,亦讓參加者親近大自然,促進參加者的身心靈健康。

     

    社區減少廢物項目 —「不再廚餘」

    本會新生農場獲環境及自然保基金資助推行廚餘回收計劃,計劃內容包括購置廚餘堆肥機,將從社區收集的廚餘轉化為有機肥料及菇菌培養土供給農場使用;此外,計劃亦包括舉辦參觀、講座及「升級再造」工作坊以向公眾推廣減少廚餘、源頭減廢及有機種植等概念。

    • 由環境及自然保基金資助購置得廚餘堆肥機
    • 將咖啡渣升級再造為培苗的植土

     

    食物分享計劃

    為鼓勵大眾減少食物浪費及倡導食物捐贈,本會自2012年起於黃大仙及屯門區推行食物分享計劃。及後,本會獲得環境及自然保基金資助於2015年6月起將計劃延伸至葵涌及荃灣區,並加入社區參與及學校推廣等元素。

    • 食物分享計劃每天向200至240名受助人士派發食物
    • 食物分享計劃加入社區參與元素

     

    中華電力「能源審核計劃」及「綠倍動力節能榜」

    本會部分服務單位參加了中華電力「能源審核計劃」,透過參考中電提供的報告及提高能源效益的建議,服務單位能採取適當的措施提高單位的能源效益。「綠倍動力節能榜」則有助本會於每季度了解整體的用電情況。

     

    綠色響應

    除積極於會內推行綠色措施外,本會亦有響應政府部門及其他團體有利於保護環境及持續發展的措施或計劃,例如:

    本會已簽署環境局推出的《戶外燈光約章》,承諾在每晚11時至翌日早上7時關掉戶外燈光,減低對環境構成的滋擾。

     

    除《戶外燈光約章》外,本會亦簽署由環保局推出的《節能約章》,承諾提升節約能源力度,包括在夏季期間將平均室內溫度維持在攝氏24至26度之間、關掉不使用的電器及系統等。

     

    本會亦支持香港護鯊會的護鯊行動,簽署《向魚翅說不》約章,承諾不會於內部及公開活動中供應魚翅,履行社會責任。

    按環境保護署的資料所顯示,目前,香港大部分廚餘會連同其他都市固體廢物一起被棄置於堆填區,不但佔用寶貴的堆填空間,亦浪費了其中的有用有機物質。因此,本會參與了小寶慈善基金 - 惜食堂推行的「愛食物惜地球」之惜食咪嘥嘢計劃,於服務單位及辦公室的垃圾箱上貼上帶出珍惜食物訊息的環保貼紙,提醒職員及服務使用者應時刻珍惜食物,減少廚餘。


    • 「惜食」貼紙張貼於垃圾箱,提醒職員及服務使用者應珍惜食物,切勿「嘥嘢」

     

    綠色教育

    本會製作「綠色起動小冊子」作為環保教材供職員及服務使用者使用。當中內容包含與綠化相關的資訊、小遊戲和綠色生活小貼士,藉此增加職員及服務使用者的環保綠化知識。


    • 「綠色起動小冊子」
      Let's Go Green Booklet

回頁頂